Leaking pressure relief valve

Old 03-14-17, 01:07 AM
G
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Leaking pressure relief valve

Hi I have a slight problem with my water system and its difficult for me to get help so I might have to do it myself. The valve with a gauge on it is the best way I can explain the problem.

Basically before the issue we used to have the central heating on no problem but occasionally this gauge showed the pressure to be too high and water used to spit out of the bottom. So occasionally I used to let some water out to relieve it.

Anyway recently we turned off everything to refill the oil. When I turned it back on water just pisses out of the bottom of this valve and wont stop. It is so bad I have had to turn the water supply to the house off.

I have included as many photos as possible. I will have to somehow deal with this myself although I have never done any plumbing before.
Thanks for reading

Name:  b1.jpg
Views: 702
Size:  36.5 KB

Name:  b2.jpg
Views: 999
Size:  37.7 KB

Name:  b3.jpg
Views: 675
Size:  40.2 KB

Name:  b4.jpg
Views: 836
Size:  37.1 KB

Name:  b5.jpg
Views: 432
Size:  36.4 KB

Last edited by PJmax; 03-14-17 at 09:03 AM. Reason: enlarged/enhanced thumbnail pics
Sponsored Links
Old 03-14-17, 06:57 AM
G
Received 10 Votes on 10 Posts
Can you post some better photos? These are rather small and can't be enlarged when I click on them individually. They are also not quite in focus.

In the meantime, tell us the temperature and pressure.

Old 03-14-17, 08:26 AM
S
Received 41 Votes on 39 Posts
g,
What is the name and model number of the boiler. The red tank that is hanging down with the writing on top is your expansion tank and if it looses its air charge will create the problem you described.