Erratic burner and pump behavior: aquastat ?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-16-17, 09:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Erratic burner and pump behavior: aquastat ?

Hi everyone. I just found this forum and what an amazing group of experts. Hoping someone can give some insight on this odd issue with my Aquastat.

I have an older oil fired boiler- single zone, no heating coil. The Aquastat is a Honeywell R8182D. The old aquastat developed a buzz in the burner relay and then stopped functioning. I bought a replacement and installed it and now I have some really weird behavior.

The old one was wired to exclude the LO/DIFF- so the black and white wires jumped together. When I wired up the new one the exact same way (and I have check and rechecked the wiring, including redoing it a few times) - the circulator pump will immediately begin running on start up, but the burner never fires.

When I rewire the control to include the LO/DIFF then both the circulator and the burner immediately fire up, but only go until the LO limit is reached, then they shut down, even though the high limit is set 30 degrees higher. I have jumped the TT to eliminate the possibility of the thermostat.

Any ideas? Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-16-17, 10:30 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2,722
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
j,
What did you replace the aqustat with. The 8182D is a triple action used when you have a tankless coil. By them jumping out the low limit they made it into a cold start application so it only ran on a demand for heat.

When you replaced it you could have just bought Honeywell L7224U Oil Electronic Aquastat which gives you the option of low limit or just cold start which is what you need.

Hope this helps a little.
 
  #3  
Old 03-16-17, 10:42 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,068
Received 19 Votes on 19 Posts
Hi, here is a link I found that may shed some light on your situation.

Aquastat settings: Best High, Low, & DIFF Settings on a Heating Boiler Aquastat
 

Last edited by PJmax; 03-16-17 at 11:38 AM. Reason: link corrected
  #4  
Old 03-16-17, 10:47 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2,722
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
g,
I tried the link and it says page does not exist.
 
  #5  
Old 03-16-17, 10:52 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,068
Received 19 Votes on 19 Posts
Your right! I guess I should have checked it first.
 
  #6  
Old 03-16-17, 11:34 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,068
Received 19 Votes on 19 Posts
Hi, assuming you installed the L7224 replacement did you follow the programing steps in the instructions?
Geo
 
  #7  
Old 03-16-17, 11:39 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,558
Received 410 Votes on 385 Posts
Corrected Geochurchi's link in post 3.
 
  #8  
Old 03-16-17, 12:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the quick thoughts, everyone. I replaced it with an identical model R8182D, but a used one. So, I suppose there could be an issue there- but the seller assured me it worked. So, I was hoping it was just something in the wiring I haven't considered. I have been through all the documentation on the inspectipedia site and the manual and nothing seems to apply.

I did actually, last night, order the L7224U and it should be here tomorrow. But, when I was looking at the instructions, I did not see FF terminals for the Cad Cell, like the R8182D has. So, I got concerned that it wouldn't work as a direct replacement. Does anyone have any idea if it can work?
 
  #9  
Old 03-16-17, 03:56 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2,722
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
j,
Where all your connections were made into the 8182D you will now have to add an oil burner primary control. There are a few out there like the Honeywell R8184G4009 Oil Burner Control but if you are going electronic and want an upgrade you can get the
Honeywell R7284U-1004 Universal Electronic Oil Primary with Programmable Parameters and LCD Display.

They make a good pair and you get the LED display to see what is going on. Makes trouble shooting a little easier.

You may have to do a little additional wiring. The new primary will mount on top of your motor to the burner chassis on a 4 x 4 handy box or a box made for Becket burners if that is what you have.

Hope this helps a little.
 
  #10  
Old 03-16-17, 09:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, spott- that is very helpful. I appreciate your time and expertise
 
  #11  
Old 03-17-17, 09:13 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: us
Posts: 641
Received 9 Votes on 9 Posts
I did actually, last night, order the L7224U and it should be here tomorrow. But, when I was looking at the instructions, I did not see FF terminals for the Cad Cell, like the R8182D has. So, I got concerned that it wouldn't work as a direct replacement. Does anyone have any idea if it can work?
You ordered the wrong thing an Aquastat : Honeywell L7224U-1002 Universal Electronic Oil Aquastat with EnviraCOM Communication $159

You want a Honeywell R72894U Universal Digital Primary control for $60 a saving of $79.00

https://forwardthinking.honeywell.co...u_feature.html

http://www.supplyhouse.com/Honeywell...ic-Oil-Primary
 

Last edited by doughess; 03-17-17 at 09:42 AM.
  #12  
Old 03-17-17, 11:29 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2,722
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
d,
With all due respect if your aquastat is defective you don't replace it with a primary control. They are 2 different animals as I thought you knew.

If he just got the primary control that would not solve his aquastat problems. In this case by replacing his 8182D which were made so you didn't need a primary control since all the connections including the cad cell were included in the aquastat. With the new Honeywell L7224U-1002 you must use a primary because there are no CC terminals included and therefore no safety or reset built in. The new primary will now have the safety and reset button.

This is just my thoughts on the matter in case I misunderstood your post.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: