Burnham MPO-IQ84 Install

Reply

  #41  
Old 04-22-17, 03:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 68
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok so I just took that cable off and it is working perfectly now. Woohoo! So I am getting:

5.3 O2
11.4 CO2
360F Stack Temp
-.02 inH20 breech draft

From my research this seem to be pretty good right?

Can anyone tell me what the heck that EnviraCom cable is for???

Should I be looking for a certain temp delta from the supply to return?

Thank you so much for all the help along the way! It's a little chilly here today, so it was a perfect day to get this going!
 
Sponsored Links
  #42  
Old 04-22-17, 05:36 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2,698
Upvotes: 0
Received 11 Votes on 11 Posts
Err 2 Communication Fault
Enviracom terminal is shorted to ground or line voltage. - Check wiring to EnviraCOM terminals 1,2 and 3. Wiring to external EnviraCom device is incorrect

Found this before I saw your last post. You can research this also to see if you find some answers.


Glad it's working, readings look good. Did you do a smoke test to make sure it's burning clean.
 
  #43  
Old 04-22-17, 06:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 68
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Did you do a smoke test to make sure it's burning clean.
No I dont have any way to test this. Since it is the end of the heating season, I plan to have someone come out in the Fall. The only thing that I can say is that there is no black smoke coming out of the chimmney. Since this is the first time I have done these readings I would like to get some verification that I am doing it correctly anyway.
 
  #44  
Old 04-23-17, 11:12 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA near Boston, MA
Posts: 662
Received 18 Votes on 14 Posts
The EnviraCom terminal is for use with EnviraCom thermostats and remote controls. Honeywell makes them. When connected you can see boiler conditions remotely at the thermostat.
 
  #45  
Old 04-27-17, 08:05 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 68
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The EnviraCom terminal is for use with EnviraCom thermostats and remote controls. Honeywell makes them. When connected you can see boiler conditions remotely at the thermostat.
Thanks for that. At least I know I dont need it now! I will post some pics of the final installation. Here is a list of the problems I encountered for anyone else attempting this...
      • I used pipe dope only. No teflon tape.
        • For 1 1/2" pipe even with a 24" wrench you need to tighten way more than you think you should.
        • Always use two pipe wrenches opposing each other to prevent other fittings from spinning.
        • Unions are not only good for future problems, they also help if you have leaky connections.
        • Pressure test at each stage to catch leaks early. When I say pressure test, I mean fill with water and let it pressurize to your normal household water pressure.
        • Take note of any directional fittings/valves. Look at each fitting as you are installing it. Globe valves have a direction.
        • Make sure you leave enough room under the boiler drain to attach a hose.

        I am sure I will think of some more, but that is some of what I learned...
         
          #46  
        Old 09-02-17, 03:48 PM
        Member
        Thread Starter
        Join Date: Feb 2017
        Location: USA
        Posts: 68
        Upvotes: 0
        Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
        Here are the pics! All done now with the super stor in as well. Thanks for all the help!


         
          #47  
        Old 09-02-17, 04:06 PM
        Member
        Thread Starter
        Join Date: Feb 2017
        Location: USA
        Posts: 68
        Upvotes: 0
        Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
        I have been having trouble posting images... So in case that doesnt work here are the links:

        https://www.dropbox.com/s/fgmwr3ywhc...81525.jpg?dl=0

        https://www.dropbox.com/s/9y89d6mmqq...81500.jpg?dl=0
         
          #48  
        Old 09-03-17, 01:28 PM
        Member
        Join Date: May 2006
        Location: upstate New York
        Posts: 397
        Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
        Looks good. Thanks for sharing and documenting everything with photos and explanations. I'm planning to do a DIY boiler replacement soon. I'm sure I'll be asking lots of questions! Steve
         
          #49  
        Old 09-06-17, 08:10 AM
        Grady's Avatar
        Forum Topic Moderator
        Join Date: Jan 2005
        Location: Delaware, The First State
        Posts: 13,928
        Upvotes: 0
        Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
        Black vent pipe

        The only thing I saw that jumped out at me was the use of black vent pipe. If I'm not mistaken, installation instructions & NFPA code specify galvanized.
         
          #50  
        Old 07-10-19, 05:37 AM
        Member
        Join Date: Jul 2019
        Location: United States
        Posts: 1
        Upvotes: 0
        Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
        green stuff in boiler

        thanks for posting the results of adjusting the MPO.

        can you post the overfire draft you ended up with?

        I installed a MPO-IQ 115 last sept. , it ran fine all winter (adjusted flame by eye & manometer )
        when I cleaned the boiler 6 month later I was surprised to find a very clean boiler except the back of the fire box is tinted green. I am thinking maybe the green is from a sludge removal additive that I add when I get a oil delivery.
         
        Attached Images    

        Last edited by doncarl; 07-10-19 at 06:44 AM. Reason: add pictures
          #51  
        Old 07-15-19, 05:04 AM
        Grady's Avatar
        Forum Topic Moderator
        Join Date: Jan 2005
        Location: Delaware, The First State
        Posts: 13,928
        Upvotes: 0
        Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
        That's a new one on me. i've never seen a green tint in a boiler. Unless someone else has an idea, I would check with the additive manufacturer.
         
          #52  
        Old 07-18-19, 06:49 PM
        rbeck's Avatar
        Member
        Join Date: Jul 2007
        Location: Pennsylvania
        Posts: 2,446
        Upvotes: 0
        Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
        The draft reading is not correct in the breech. The draft should be "0" with the draft regulator only open slightly and the CO2 I normally like to see 12%.
        Black vent pipe is OK code only states it must be 26 ga. of better and the black pipe is ud=sed on wood stoves which have higher vent temperatures
         
        Reply

        Posting Rules
        You may not post new threads
        You may not post replies
        You may not post attachments
        You may not edit your posts

        BB code is On
        Smilies are On
        [IMG] code is On
        HTML code is Off
        Trackbacks are Off
        Pingbacks are Off
        Refbacks are Off


        Thread Tools
        Search this Thread
        Display Modes
         
        Ask a Question
        Question Title:
        Description:
        Your question will be posted in: