Does oil burner actually use the chimney?


  #1  
Old 06-05-17, 08:46 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 892
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does oil burner actually use the chimney?

Hi.

The house I moved into (1971 built) a couple years back has an oil burner for heat and hot water and of course is attached to a chimney. When we moved in the guy before had a little wood stove in the basement also attached to the chimney. We took it out cause I guess they said it wasn't legal or something.

Anyways, I'm wondering - Does the oil burner actually use the chimney?
 
  #2  
Old 06-05-17, 09:00 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,911
Received 106 Votes on 93 Posts
With that little info and no pictures not sure how anyone would know.
That oil burner has to exhaust some place.
Far more likely that wood stove should have had it's own chimney.
 
  #3  
Old 06-05-17, 09:43 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,572
Received 1,599 Votes on 1,473 Posts
Yes..... the oil burner absolutely needs the chimney.
 
  #4  
Old 06-06-17, 03:29 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 48,238
Received 426 Votes on 381 Posts
While there may only be 1 chimney, it should have separate flues for each device that is attached to it. The furnace and former wood stove should each have their own flue, the same is true for a fireplace if you have one.
 
  #5  
Old 06-06-17, 01:34 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 892
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks all!

I gotta go up on the roof and measure for a chimney cap. We had a dead bird that I pulled out of the bottom where you clean the chimney!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: