A couple basic boiler questions

Old 11-02-17, 06:51 PM
G
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
A couple basic boiler questions

I have a Burnham boiler with a four-zone Taco controller. One zone is hot water and the other three are for heating. I'm new to hydrionic heating (grew up in the midwest where everything is gas forced air), so I have a couple questions:

1. When the boiler turns off, it makes what can be best described as a squealing/screeching noise. Since I had it serviced a couple weeks ago, it seems to do this just about every time it turns off, but before I had it serviced it only did it sometimes. The technician who serviced it told me this is normal. Was she right?

2. Even if heat is off, the radiators in the master bedroom (zone 3) are often warm to the touch. They're not hot...just kind of pleasantly warm. Sometimes they're cold. I disconnected the thermostat to ensure it wasn't mistakenly calling for heat. Each zone has a Taco 008 circulator pump and Taco 218 check valve. How can I determine if it's a broken vane in the pump or a bad check valve? I bought a new cartridge for the pump before I really understood it could be the check valve. How to troubleshoot that?

Thanks for any ideas.

Old 11-02-17, 08:43 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,947 Upvotes on 3,540 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Some start up questions.
1) Is this an oil fired boiler ?
The burner has a motor in it that drives a pump and a blower. That can make noise on fire down.

2) There are 4 circulator pumps ?

There is a very good chance that you have a defective flow control (check) valve.
There should be lights in the Taco controller that show you which zones are calling for heat.

Old 11-03-17, 08:42 AM
G
Thanks for replying. Yes, it is an oil boiler. So that noise is just the blower/motor shutting off? Still seems odd to have a metallic squeal, no?