2 pipe hot water heating system - cold pipes/radiator

Old 11-09-17, 12:24 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
2 pipe hot water heating system - cold pipes/radiator

I am new to hot water heating, grew up with and have owned two houses with force hot air heating. Since this is all new to me and my new house (ca 1935) uses a two pipe system I thought I'd test it out before it got cold here in Philadelphia.

The system is based on a Crown boiler from 2006. There are eight radiators, 3 on the main level (living,dining,kitchen), and 5 on the 2nd floor (2x master bed, bathroom, small bed, large bed). Each radiator is individually connected to a supply and return main bus pipe that runs the length of the house. The thermostat is located in the dining room, about the center of the house and roughly 6 feet from a radiator.

The living room radiator is recessed, the remaining radiators are factory enclosed with bleed valves in the upper left corner of the front face.

The 2nd floor is noticeably cooler than the main level. This might be an issue of pressure, the orientation of the boiler makes reading the gauge very difficult.

***THE MAIN ISSUE***

The bathroom radiator on the 2nd level is cold, as are the supply and return pipes in the basement coming from the 2 main bus pipes. The radiator was replaced with a baseboard fin type unit at some point and there is no bleed valve on radiator or the plumbing. It is a very short, maybe 3 feet long section of copper with fins, an elbow at each end that connects to vertical runs down to the supply and return mains.

I am thinking that there is air in this node and since there is no bleed valve the only way to remove the air is to purge the entire system. Of course, now would be a great time to simply drain down the system, replace the return elbow with a bleed valve, fill it up, purge, and then be cozy warm in when brushing my teeth