Installing an oil fired hot water boiler

Old 01-03-18, 03:27 PM
Installing an oil fired hot water boiler

Hello. I want to replace an existing oil fired boiler and hot water heater with a new oil fired boiler with a tankless hot water coil. The unit is currently vented though a chimney. The system is functional but very old.

I am not an HVAC technician but I am an appliance technician. I am skilled in my trade and train others in this industry (meaning...I'm not a hack, I'm a professional). I am capable of following an installation manual and/or service manual. I understand this is not an easy task but I am going to do it anyway. Please refrain from telling me to hire an HVAC tech. Without exception every HVAC tech that's been to my house to service my existing unit has been barely literate, that's not to say quality techs don't exist, just stating my experience (Plenty of those guys in the appliance Repair industry too). I am confident that I can do a better job than those people. The one reputable company that quoted a price for a replacement was simply going to swap a new unit into the existing plumbing/venting so I believe that to be suitable (and I can change that if need be).

My initial question here is what tools and/or test equipment do I need to ensure proper and safe operation after the initial installation? Ive read through a few install manuals and am still in the planning stage (I'd like to do it in the spring). I haven't decided what boiler I will be using yet (currently have an old Weil McLain 68, 151,000 BTU output - which I believe is oversized by a lot, but I'll get to that later on when deciding which boiler to buy).

For instance what do I use for a hydrostatic pressure test? What do I need to test smoke level and breech draft, etc? I will have a whole checklist of things I need to answer before I begin this but I'd like to start gathering info.

Thank you.
David

Last edited by dtech80; 01-03-18 at 05:18 PM.
Sponsored Links