No ignition lockout

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-14-18, 01:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No ignition lockout

I am having an issue with my oil boiler.
The lockout happens once a week.
The control indicates no ignition. It is our vacation house and
I have a home monitoring system for the temperature.
I reset the control and it fires the first time. A week later the same thing.
I changed the oil filter, nozzle and cleaned the boiler before the season.
I also changed the electrodes and changed the oil pump filter before
winter.
Is there any way to troubleshoot this issue. I am not at the house when
The lockout happens.
It is a becket oil aft burner and Burnham 3wnh boiler. The control is honeywell r7284.
Thank you!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-14-18, 02:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 479 Votes on 449 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I'm not an oil burner tech but a defective/intermittent high voltage transformer could cause the problem you are having.
 
  #3  
Old 01-15-18, 09:54 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: us
Posts: 672
Received 10 Votes on 10 Posts
Old transformer type ignition can cause that type of issue.

Make your life simpler with a primary burner control that displays status, problems and history.

The Honeyell R7284U is universal and fits most burners for $65. A Beckett-GeniSys with separately priced LCD digital display cost twice as much for same features.

https://www.supplyhouse.com/Honeywel...ic-Oil-Primary

R7284U needs 120 VAC at all times for display and history. To start burner cycle use separate red wire from aquastat control with 120 VAC to “limit” terminal on R7284U.

The R7284U also has alarm feature contacts. Rather than wake up to cold house mine triggers audio alarm when a lockout occurs.
 

Last edited by doughess; 01-15-18 at 10:21 AM.
  #4  
Old 01-15-18, 09:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The control I installed a year ago displays history, status, errors.
The error it displays is no ignition.

The alarm is not useful because I am not at the house when the lockout happens.

Are you saying that it could be the transformer in the main panel?
Thanks.
 
  #5  
Old 01-15-18, 09:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 479 Votes on 449 Posts
No.... the high voltage ignition transformer on the burner.
 
  #6  
Old 01-16-18, 05:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok. Thank you. I don't have a lot of experience with boilers.

It's the black box that opens up to get to the electrodes.

I also have a delayed ignition and there is a loud boom when it fires.

I will try to get the part number for the transformer. It is webster 3-28AB-BAF.

Is there any way to test the transformer before I replace it?

It doesn't look like they sell it anymore. Maybe there is another brand. I will call the store and check.

Thank you!
 
  #7  
Old 01-16-18, 08:35 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: us
Posts: 672
Received 10 Votes on 10 Posts
Oil burners originally used transformers for hi voltage (around 10,000 volts) to create a spark at electrodes to start flame. Today most burners use a solid state electronic technology that is far more reliable, so always use them for replacements.

There are 5 pictures in the link below. Counting from left to right #1 #3 #4 and 5 are ignitors/ignition units. #1 is transformer type, #3, #4, #5 are solid state. #2 is old type primary control which can be replaced with Honeywell R7284U

https://www.google.com/search?q=carl...hrome&ie=UTF-8

Testing ignitors can be dangerous for the novice. I test mine by hinging open the unit. Disconnect primary wires and connect power cord to them. Plug in cord and use big plastic long, handle screw driver (never wood) to partially bridge gap in high voltage terminals.

Usually at around 3/4" gap a spark jumps the gap. If no spark until a 1/2" or less would replace it.
 

Last edited by doughess; 01-16-18 at 09:10 AM.
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: