FuelSmart Hydrostat 3250Plus - set up

Old 01-30-18, 09:36 AM
FuelSmart Hydrostat 3250Plus - set up

I'll apologize up front, as this may seem like a rambling rant, but I do indeed wish for, and respect, the advice of the experts here. First some background:

This is the system at my father's house...not my own. Pop goes to Florida every January, and I come over to check the house every 3-4 days. Typical oil boiler (Peerless WBV-03-WPCL) with FuelSmart Hydrostat 3250Plus aquastat (manual: Hydrolevel ) 2 zones (standard copper tube slant fin baseboards) and 40 gal. IDHW (i.e. no tankless coil). ***Boiler was installed early 2017*** He does have a maintenance agreement, as well as automatic delivery from the installer.

Chronology of events:

Late December: Pop mentioned that this new boiler had a lot of trouble keeping the house warm, especially on really cold nights (upstate NY), and seemed to 'run alot'.

**Disclaimer: I am NOT a pro. However, since I've had several issues with my own system, and have received lots and lots of gracious assistance from you experts on this forum...I'm pretty comfortable with how this whole thing works. I told him I could come over, and at least see where the current settings were (had a suspicion his HL was set too low).

Here's what I found: scrolling with the setting button on top only shows 3 settings:

HL - 170
LL - 153 (??)
ECO (Economy feature) - OFF

My initial thoughts:

1. HL - 170 is way too low to keep this 1860's drafty house warm when it's 0 to -10 outside (which it was for 5 days).
2. Why is the LL not 'off'? As I mentioned, he has an IDHW...no tankless coil. No doubt he wasted gagillions of gallons of oil over the summer...ugh.

Since I'm not a pro, and he does have a service contract... I was a little leery about opening up the a'stat. But I read the 3250Plus manual (seems pretty straight forward), so I figured what the heck?