Baseboard hot water: one room exceptionally cold. How to adjust/bleed valves

Old 01-19-18, 07:52 AM
Z
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Baseboard hot water: one room exceptionally cold. How to adjust/bleed valves

I have an old system, baseboard hot water. The heat does not distribute evenly, but we've lived with that. On the first floor, I have my bedroom, the bathroom, and the second bedroom all in a row.

The second bedroom always gets too much heat, the bathroom is moderate, and my bedroom has gotten less. But right now, my bedroom is getting *no* heat at all. It's an icebox. I'm sure I have some leakage in my windows, contributing to the problem but the heat is not registering.

I see that I might have to let air out of the baseboard radiator but I'm very new at this and I don't recognize the assembly at the end of the radiator. Am I right that I need to open this valve and let air out? And if so, what tool do I use -- can I just open slightly with a wrench and then tighten up?

Name:  IMG_20180119_103013262.jpg
Views: 2920
Size:  21.1 KBName:  IMG_20180119_103023932.jpg
Views: 2401
Size:  23.4 KBName:  IMG_20180119_103037837.jpg
Views: 2498
Size:  22.0 KBName:  IMG_20180119_103105217.jpg
Views: 2827
Size:  20.4 KBName:  IMG_20180119_103126543.jpg
Views: 4593
Size:  22.6 KB

Last edited by zmulls; 01-19-18 at 09:27 AM. Reason: Fix typo in header
Old 01-19-18, 09:55 AM
S
Received 141 Upvotes on 133 Posts
z,
The simple answer to your question is that there is a small screw on that vent that you LOOSEN, not remove bleed air out.

Your other problems will most likely require pics of the system, piping how the feed the baseboard and more info.

You have cast iron baseboard which is very high output compared to conventional finned baseboard and under normal circumstances should be getting plenty of heat.

Hope this helps a little.

Old 01-19-18, 11:39 AM
Z
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts