Slantfin 90k btu boiler question

Old 03-20-18, 07:11 AM
K
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Slantfin 90k btu boiler question

Hello everyone, I’m a newbie here. I’m a retired contractor and master mechanic. I’m fairly new to boilers and only have 3 years maintaining mine in my 1350sf cape cod style home with upstairs and dormers. My Slantfin 90k btu hot water propane boiler has four zones, zone one water heater, zone two livingroom, zone three master bedroom and master bath including a half bath and the fourth zone upstairs.
i primarily heat the home with a wood stove because the wood is free and use the boiler for hot water heater and backup heat. I keep the three zone thermostats at 62*.
My upstairs normally runs 3* cooler in winter and a couple degrees warmer in summer.
the bladder tank seems functional, hot on top, cold on bottom & tapping on it reveals hollow thud on bottom and saturated thud on top.
Bleader cap loose and seems slightly damp from bleeding. It does seem mounted low to me though, as boiler is in my crawl space.
Pressure is 25 psi at full operating temperature with all three heating zone running.

My question, Is this condition below normal?
When the upstairs zone comes on in early am, I hear what sounds like air in the copper pipes running up and down the ground floor walls to the upstairs radiators. After system runs a couple minutes and stabilized the noise goes away..
always heats and has never air locked, bled several times but not much air coming out bleeder.
sorry for the long post!

Name:  21.jpg
Views: 686
Size:  73.8 KB

Last edited by PJmax; 03-20-18 at 10:15 AM. Reason: reoriented picture
Old 03-20-18, 09:46 AM
S
Received 141 Upvotes on 133 Posts
k,
The 25psi is a little higher than what your need but as long as it stays under 30 is not dangerous. I like to run between 18-20psi.

What is your cold start pressure. It shouldn't vary more than a couple of lbs. between hot & cold.