Weil McLain cGa gold does not fire up

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-25-18, 10:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Usa
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Weil McLain cGa gold does not fire up

weil McLain cGa gold has boiler does not fire up just hear the pumps working, has power but does not fire up... thinking it maybe the control module, any thoughts or help?

Name:  b1.jpg
Views: 776
Size:  82.7 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 03-25-18 at 12:03 PM. Reason: reoriented picture
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-29-18, 02:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Usa
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bump... anyone help please
 
  #3  
Old 03-29-18, 02:42 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: U.S. Midwest
Posts: 1,340
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
When there is a heat call, use a voltmeter to see if you're getting 24V to the gas valve. If not, work backwards with the voltmeter and find out where the 24V is being lost.
 
  #4  
Old 03-29-18, 07:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,245
Received 380 Votes on 357 Posts
Since the module "power" light is not on..... start by checking for power.

Look below the control module. That is a 120vac to 24vac transformer. Make sure it has 120vac to it and 24vac coming out of it.

You posted a group number.... not the full model number.
This manual covers most of them. Page 53 describes where the voltage points are.

weil-mclain/default/files/field-file/cga-series-1-manual_1.pdf
 
  #5  
Old 03-30-18, 08:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Usa
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, the power and tstat are both lit and just changed the control module but still doesn't fire up just hear the water pumps buzzing... not sure what to try doing
 
  #6  
Old 03-30-18, 08:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,245
Received 380 Votes on 357 Posts
There are diagnostic lights on that module. It should tell you what the problem is or what's missing. I left you the link for the manual..... it has some good diagnostic routines to follow.
 
  #7  
Old 03-31-18, 02:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: U.S. Midwest
Posts: 1,340
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If the pump comes on, then the control module must be working, at least partially. When there is a heat call, does the vent damper open? That, in turn, should close a switch that allows 24V to go to the gas valve. Is the switch's contacts closing? Check with multimeter.
 
  #8  
Old 03-31-18, 06:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Usa
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't have a multimeter handy, but does not go to the next step limit and the damper is not moving - is there a way to bypass or check if it's the damper? I really appreciate the response - happy holidays
 
  #9  
Old 03-31-18, 11:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,245
Received 380 Votes on 357 Posts
Most dampers have a manual or bypass position where you can manually lock it open. See if there is a lever on your unit.
 
  #10  
Old 04-01-18, 06:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Usa
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I tried the manual/automatic switch but didn't make a difference- very strange... I see power and tstat but does at go to limit, could it be the temperature sensor? Eventhough it shows 65 degrees and when I unplug it it goes down and when I replug while unit is on the limit flashes.., any thoughts?
 
  #11  
Old 04-03-18, 07:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Usa
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bump ... need heat any thoughts

Help would be appreciated
 
  #12  
Old 04-03-18, 07:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Usa
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tried

tried water temp sensor it just doesn't go through the steps any ideas?
 
  #13  
Old 04-03-18, 09:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,245
Received 380 Votes on 357 Posts
Go to page 59 - section 11C in the manual link I left you. Follow those diagnostic steps.

That manual is one of the best I've seen for troubleshooting. I could go thru it step by step with you but it is written well and is easy to follow. 11C discusses where to go to when the the thermostat is confirmed working and the circulator is running.
 
  #14  
Old 04-04-18, 05:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Usa
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks you , I appreciate it- I called a service guy can't believe it was a low water cut which is not even needed
 
  #15  
Old 04-04-18, 05:46 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: U.S. Midwest
Posts: 1,340
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Alex10 View Post
Thanks you , I appreciate it- I called a service guy can't believe it was a low water cut which is not even needed
The low-water cutoff isn't needed? Who says, and why? Good luck.
 
  #16  
Old 04-04-18, 08:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Usa
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hot water boiler, Low water cut off needed?
 
  #17  
Old 04-05-18, 05:20 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: U.S. Midwest
Posts: 1,340
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, a low-water cutoff is needed.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: