L8148A aquastat differential failure

Old 12-19-18, 03:39 PM
L8148A aquastat differential failure

While calling for heat and after reaching the 180 high limit, the burner shuts down. Good, that's what it is supposed to do. But then the burner may start again after only dropping a couple of degrees. Nowhere close to the 8º fixed differential. Is it a failure of the aquastat and is that repairable or can the burner be getting a rogue signal to start from some other source?
I get a lot of short cycling on a random basis. Sometimes as short as a few seconds.

Riello burner, Crown Boiler, 4 zones, 1 circulator pump, TACO controller, L8148A aquastat. All connections checked and tight.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-20-18, 07:00 AM
I'm not a pro & can't answer your question but will comment that these are crude temperature measuring devices & 8* isn't much of a change. Could be your gauge is slower responding than the aquastat probe.

A related question of my own concerns that differential. With modern higher-efficiency condensing boilers flowing cooler water through the pipes I'm curious if 8* differential is still a good setting? Maybe 15-20 would stop the short cycling and save energy *despite* the lower efficiency of cooler water (on average) flowing? If one is faced with replacing an aquastat should one with an adjustable differential--set wider--be installed?

Old 12-20-18, 07:50 AM
Had the same issue here. I invested in an IntelliCon HW+ piggyback controller. It's totally eliminated the short cycling and has saved me quite a bit on fuel consumption. It holds off the burner and gets me about a 15 - 20 degree water temp swing, depending on load conditions. Much longer burn times means much more efficiency. The short cycling, especially for those with over sized boilers just consumes tons of energy. This unit allows a lot of the heat in the boiler to be drawn out before it allows the burner to fire.

Old 12-20-18, 02:27 PM
S,