Keep having to hit boiler reset

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-16-19, 11:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Keep having to hit boiler reset

Hey guys, so just recently I have been having to trigger my boiler to turn on because the boiler will not activate in response to the low limit temperature level. I have also noticed, my aquastat seems to be making a buzzing noise, but am not sure if this is related. I have recently (a few weeks ago) had the boiler serviced and the guy said everything seems fine. I am considering changing out the whole burner unit as my friend had a decently new one he wasn't using as he converted to natural gas. I guess my question is what could cause this issue. It doesn't seem to happen every time the boiler needs to trigger. It seems to be an intermittent problem, I'm selling the house in 2 weeks and really don't want to go on a thousand+ dollar goose chase with this boiler. Any ideas would be appreciated. As a note: I have forced hot water Burnham oil boiler with a Beckett burner.
 

Last edited by Kannwar; 02-16-19 at 11:03 AM. Reason: Details
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-16-19, 11:08 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,219
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts
Thread moved to boiler forum.

Not sure what or how you are "triggering" the boiler.

I have recently (a few weeks ago) had the boiler serviced and the guy said everything seems fine
Obviously he missed something and should be called back. You should not get involved in replacing a burner.
 
  #3  
Old 02-16-19, 11:13 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
By hitting the reset button on the burner motor. The technician could not reproduce the problem. It's a burner motor, not a spaceship. It has an oil feed line, 4 bolts, an electrical hookup for the cartridge circulator, and an electrical hookup for the aquastat. I think I can handle it dude. Thanks for your patronizing comments though.
 
  #4  
Old 02-16-19, 11:42 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,569
Received 53 Votes on 49 Posts
The problem could be unrelated to the burner itself, and changing the entire burner could result in you still having to hit the reset button.
If you change the burner you’ll need a combustion analysis to set the burner correctly.
 
  #5  
Old 02-16-19, 12:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,219
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts
You don't just throw an oil burner gun in. There are critical adjustments that need to be made.

What could the problem be......]
- defective/intermittent high voltage transformer
- defective oil pump
- air leak in supply line
- electrodes worn out/not adjusted correctly
- dirty cad eye
 
  #6  
Old 02-16-19, 12:53 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2,758
Received 21 Votes on 20 Posts
With all due respect dude, I don't think PJ meant to be patronizing but just giving some good advice according to what you posted. We have no idea of the skill level of the people that post here but due to the high labor costs nowadays they are attempting to do things themselves without knowing what is fully involved. Pete doesn't need me or anyone to defend him but lets remember who the one is looking for help.

Case in point. You've already paid a tech to come out and you still have the same problem. Between you and the tech you can't figure out why you have to reset your boiler. If you can't solve a simple problem like that what makes you think you are qualified to install a burner. If you think you've got problems now just install that burner with the simplistic way you described and you will be pushing up daisies before that thing runs right again.

That being said, to get to your problem. You mentioned the tech reset the burner motor. If he reset the burner motor itself and not the primary control reset then obviously, change the motor. If it's the control reset it could be an ignition problem which could be the transformer or the electrodes. If it was something to do with the oil, it would do it constantly.

When it relights are you getting any puff back or oil smell. If so, that is from delayed ignition which again is your transformer or electrodes.

Hope this helps a little. Hopefully you will gain some knowledge and lose the attitude.
 
  #7  
Old 02-17-19, 08:01 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: us
Posts: 671
Received 10 Votes on 10 Posts
The aquastat buzzing sound is probably a transformer in it. Some aquastats have one others do not.

What is aquastat make and model number of it?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: