Attaching Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat to a RA832A relay

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-09-19, 10:23 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Attaching Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat to a RA832A relay

Hello Friends,

I'm a home owner with limited know how... I recently purchased a home which has hot water baseboard heating system... I have total 3 zones and wiring includes 3 separate RA832A relays and a AQUASTAT L8148E relay.

Everything is working fine, however, the thermostat that I have at basement is very old... I would like to substitute the existing thermostat with a more modern Wi-Fi smart thermostat... Most such thermostats require a 'C' wire... Could you be able to help me understand how could I be able to get that accomplished.

I have attached the picture of the RA832A relay that is controlling the basement heating.

I thank you in advance.

Regards,
Anup
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 09-09-19, 11:40 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,801
Received 1,327 Votes on 1,226 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

#1) There is not enough 24vac current to run a wifi stat off that relay.
#2) There isn't a tap even available for a C wire.

That leaves you with using a separate 24v transformer to run the wifi stat.

It would be good to put the proper cable connectors in the relay for the wiring.
 
  #3  
Old 09-09-19, 01:05 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pete, thanks... I guess I either do that or just be happy to use a better battery powered TSTAT
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: