Honeywell L8148 Aquastat sanity check

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-21-19, 12:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Honeywell L8148 Aquastat sanity check

Got a new L8148 aquastat today for one that fried last week. Got it all wired up, flipped the switch, nothing. After confirming that I had a call for heat from at least 1 thermostat I jumpered the two T terminals on the board, still nothing. Question: that should force the boiler to fire correct? (cold boiler so high limit not an issue). Looking for a sanity check as I already RMAed the part as defective.

When I manually open the relay the burner and circulator fire right up no issues.

FWIW, 2 zones are hooked up with Taco zone control valves powered via a doorbell transformer hooked to the primary in. Nothing has changed in this part of the circuit but just thought I would mention it because it's super janky.
Anything else I should be checking before I rip out the new aquastat?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-21-19, 01:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,245
Received 381 Votes on 358 Posts
If L1 and L2 had power on them..... at least the relay would close when the TT connections were shorted. Possibly a jumper was missing ? What model 8148 ?
 
  #3  
Old 10-21-19, 01:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Correct, 120V coming In and and manually manipulating the relay fires the burner and runs the circulator. The relay does not close/open when jumpering the two T terminals.
 

Last edited by sniperpiper; 10-21-19 at 01:35 PM. Reason: Added a word
  #4  
Old 10-21-19, 01:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's model L8148A1017. It's an exact replacement for what was there before it fried.
 
  #5  
Old 10-22-19, 07:26 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: us
Posts: 635
Received 9 Votes on 9 Posts
Aquastats provide contact closure to start burner. Obviously sandpiper issue is not the aquastat.

If sandpiper had a modern burner controller $64 with LCD display that shows status and history it would be a big help to understant what is going on here. https://s3.amazonaws.com/s3.supplyho...s/R7284Bro.pdf

Rather than paying $159 for old technology Honeywell L8184 sandpiper can save up to 20% annually on fuel costs with Tekmar aquastat/outdoor reset for $157 and save $2.00

https://www.supplyhouse.com/Tekmar-2...iler-4150000-p

The Tekmar 256 has LCD display and digital menus that enable system to be optimized. It requires one extra wire to keep power on at all times.

https://www.supplyhouse.com/Honeywel...tial-5477000-p
 
  #6  
Old 10-22-19, 10:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Went back to the unit today and did some more debugging while I wait for UPS to get here.

Measured voltage across both T terminals and B2 and got 0V on both. I'm thinking it's a bad 24V transformer. I took the board out and check the solder on both T posts and have good continuity between posts and traces on the board so my only guess is the transformer is bad. We'll see when the new unit shows up....
 
  #7  
Old 10-22-19, 01:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,245
Received 381 Votes on 358 Posts
A brand new aquastat with a defective transformer ?
 
  #8  
Old 10-22-19, 03:36 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,908
Received 7 Votes on 7 Posts
If you've checked the continuity on both the primary and secondary xfmr windings, then the xfmr is good.
 
  #9  
Old 10-22-19, 07:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't know how else to explain there not being 24V on either of the two T terminals or the fact that jumpering the two Ts doesn't suck the relay down when there is 120V on L1....
 
  #10  
Old 10-22-19, 08:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: us
Posts: 635
Received 9 Votes on 9 Posts
Measure the transformer voltages directly on the leads from it. If there is no bare spot to contact use pin thru insulation.

A bare transformer not connected to anything usually does not have continuity between primary and secondary. Reason xformers are used for isolation.

When power is on, T T terminals, when not connected together should read 18 - 24 VAC. Usually one side of xformer goes to one T. The other xformer to a 24 volt relay coil. The other side of relay coil goes to second T.

Next measure coil resistance, typically a few hundred or thousands of ohms.
 

Last edited by doughess; 10-22-19 at 08:38 PM.
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: