Boiler control center not getting power

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-08-19, 01:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Boiler control center not getting power

The transformer is putting out 24v like it should but the control center isnít getting any power. My unit had a white-Rodgers/rbm 510-312-167 and was told to replace it with a Honeywell R8285a 1048.

However, I see the wiring does not math on the two parts.I could move the wires around on the front so the R Y C G terminals all match but the plugin on the back would still be different. Can I even make this new part work or need I order a new part? Iíll post pictures of the two parts below.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-08-19, 10:29 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,636
Received 419 Votes on 392 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Your links are to a site that DIY does not allow. You can post the site name and I'll import them for you or you can post them directly to the board........ How-to-insert-pictures.

Those are basic fan centers. You said your transformer was working. That means you should measure 24vAC across R and C. You should also measure 24vAC from R to G. A short from R to G activates the relay in the fan center.
 
  #3  
Old 11-16-19, 07:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry, here are the photos

Old part....
Name:  b1.jpg
Views: 43
Size:  33.3 KB

Name:  b2.jpg
Views: 45
Size:  25.2 KB

New part.....
Name:  b3.jpg
Views: 44
Size:  44.9 KB

Name:  b4.jpg
Views: 44
Size:  50.8 KB

Side by side back view....
Name:  b5.jpg
Views: 44
Size:  51.6 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 11-16-19 at 02:43 PM. Reason: posted pics from links
  #4  
Old 11-16-19, 01:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I know I took a while to reply, any office for me?
 
  #5  
Old 11-16-19, 02:46 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,636
Received 419 Votes on 392 Posts
Ok. You posted two fan centers. they work identically.
The black and white need 120vAC.
The three loose wires are common, NO (normally open) and NC (normally closed).

You should be using the common and NO wires to run your boiler. Cap off the NC wire.
 
  #6  
Old 11-16-19, 05:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How do I know which wires from the boiler to connect to the common and NO wires on the fan control?

im not home right now and don’t have it in front of me so maybe that’s a stupid question. Why can’t wire cables have standard colors haha?
 
  #7  
Old 11-17-19, 09:24 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,636
Received 419 Votes on 392 Posts
These parts are made for the trade. We look at the wiring diagram and install it. Wiring colors change routinely as there is no standard.

Same with your boiler..... no standard.
White is usually neutral and would connect to white of the transformer.
There should be one wire that is always hot with the service switch on. That would connect to black of the transformer and one of the relay wires.
The remaining wire would go to the other relay wire.

If this isn't helpful.... post a picture of two of the boiler wiring.
 
  #8  
Old 11-22-19, 05:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here you can see my boiler has 4 wires, 2 whites, a black and a yellow. The new controller I have has 5 wires. 1 white, 2 blacks, a brown, and a red.

Name:  bw.jpg
Views: 24
Size:  25.7 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 11-22-19 at 06:44 PM. Reason: added/enlarged pic from link
  #9  
Old 11-22-19, 06:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,636
Received 419 Votes on 392 Posts
Connect the two white wires together along with the white transformer wire.
Connect the black wire to the black of the transformer and the black relay wire.
Connect the yellow wire to the red relay wire.
Cap off the brown relay wire.
 
  #10  
Old 11-26-19, 09:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks! Got it all wired up! One more question. On the front of the control I had a wire connected to the y terminal and a wire connected to the g terminal. On the control where do I connect the to wires to? Is it Y and c?
 
  #11  
Old 11-26-19, 10:34 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,636
Received 419 Votes on 392 Posts
If you only have two thermostat wires connecting to the center..... you would use R and G.
A short on R and G will activate the fan center relay.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: