Boiler transformer/ relay help

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-08-19, 09:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 30
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Boiler transformer/ relay help

Hello all, have a Weil McLain boiler relay every so often clicks like crazy so would like to change it. Trying find the correct replacement. The relay is made by Honeywell, but honestly donít want to pay double price by going to a Weil McLain again. I attached the fan center pics and also schematic. The assembly number says R8285D 1000. The schematic day DPST. Any suggestions which is the aftermarket replacement.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-08-19, 09:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 30
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Attached pics are the boiler schematic also
 
Attached Images   
  #3  
Old 12-08-19, 09:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA near Boston, MA
Posts: 703
Received 22 Votes on 18 Posts
Check at SupplyHouse.com. Your original part number shows as discontinued but has this replacement:

https://www.supplyhouse.com/Honeywel...SABEgKEJPD_BwE

A Google search on your original part number comes up with this less expensive Honeywell part (different number) also at SupplyHouse.com:

https://www.supplyhouse.com/Honeywel...SABEgKEJPD_BwE

You can call SupplyHouse.com to discuss the differences and whether the Honeywell part will work for you.
 
  #4  
Old 12-08-19, 10:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 30
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi 2John thatís the part number I was thinking is the Honeywell replacement I wasnít going to buy a pen since some times there are generic versions available. So I believe the 5001 Honeywell is pretty much a direct replacement
 
  #5  
Old 12-08-19, 06:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,251
Received 482 Votes on 452 Posts
Any fan center can work in there but that isn't usually the cause of the relay clicking. A clicking can be caused by a thermostat issue. .
 
  #6  
Old 12-09-19, 08:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 30
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi PJ you know funny you say that! My brother-in-law installed those fool Nest thermostats which I’ve heard mixed reviews I wonder if that is the smoking gun. There are 3 and in all installations they only have 2 wires and they also go back to the taco 3 zone control box.

What I have noticed on not noticed is he can energized/de-energize the thermostats from the app but I have not found the clicking happen during a specific one turning on or off. It also could be a combination on two or three being on. Not sure how we would isolate which one or combo it would be.
 
  #7  
Old 12-09-19, 08:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 30
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I also pulled the relay to make sure the R8285D 5001 would work but still not sure if it will. I canít make the schematics up from Honeywell data sheet to the old relay. I attached the Honeywell schematic data sheet and the back of the relay. Any suggestions?? Or can you folks tell me for sure it will work.
 
Attached Images    

Last edited by Hgy1243; 12-09-19 at 09:00 AM. Reason: K
  #8  
Old 12-09-19, 03:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: us
Posts: 672
Received 10 Votes on 10 Posts
Relays are often generic.

Find a 24 VDC, 12 amp or more contacts, double pole relay with spade contacts.

Attach it with double stickum tape or whatever.

Here is one: https://www.alliedelec.com/product/o...B&gclsrc=aw.ds
 

Last edited by doughess; 12-09-19 at 04:06 PM.
  #9  
Old 12-09-19, 04:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 30
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I guess my real question is will the R8285D5001 work in place of the existing R8285D1000. The old relay in the R8285D1000 is a R8222U they new one comes with a R8222B. I believe the old relay was a DPDT used as a DPST. The new one seems to be just a DPST. I just donít know how much rewriting I have to do to use the new one if any.
 
  #10  
Old 12-09-19, 08:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: us
Posts: 672
Received 10 Votes on 10 Posts
The Hgy1243 relay in picture is DPDT with 3 contacts per pole.

When off/deenergized a poles contact 1 makes contact with 2 or 4 contacts 5

When energized contact 1 makes contact with 3 or 4 contacts 6

When replacing with SP, just use contacts 1 and 3 or 4 and 6 so when relay is energized they are connected.
 

Last edited by doughess; 12-09-19 at 08:40 PM.
  #11  
Old 12-09-19, 08:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,251
Received 482 Votes on 452 Posts
@ doug......
Find a 24 VDC, 12 amp or more contacts, double pole relay with spade contacts
Are you sure it shouldn't be 24vAC ?


There are 3 and in all installations they only have 2 wires and they also go back to the taco 3 zone control box.
Very doubtful you have a relay problem.
Most Taco zone valve controllers will not run power stealing thermostats correctly.
Some, not all, Taco controllers have the ability for a three wire connection.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: