Thermostat replacement

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-11-20, 05:09 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat replacement

I just bought a house and looking to replace my old thermostat with a honeywell 6580, I have a boiler heating system my old thermostat has 2 wire ,one wire to W and the other one to RC and RH with a jumper. The new thermostat requires a c wire but don't know how to begin doing that.if anyone know can you please help me hook up the thermostat with the c wire thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 04-11-20, 05:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,956
Received 1,353 Votes on 1,251 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You may be able to obtain a C connection at your boiler but you still need three wires between the boiler and your thermostat.
 
  #3  
Old 04-11-20, 05:53 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat replacement

I put a new thermostat wire in the wall there a 24v transformer next to the boiler relay controller it has 2 wires going to the boiler and the wires are # C R don't know if I can take it from there
 
  #4  
Old 04-11-20, 09:43 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,956
Received 1,353 Votes on 1,251 Posts
Does your boiler have multiple zones using zone valves ?
Can you post a few pictures of the wiring you have there ?

How-to-insert-pictures.
 
  #5  
Old 04-12-20, 01:42 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat replacement

I don't think I can post pictures ,I'm using my phone at the moment, it says I need a computer to do that and don't have a computer.
 
  #6  
Old 04-12-20, 08:11 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat replacement

I'm going to get a 24v transformers and hook it up separate for the C wire ,should I connect one wire to the C and the other wire to the R or RC? The other 2 wires from the original one goes to W and the other to R or RC?
 
  #7  
Old 04-12-20, 10:35 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,956
Received 1,353 Votes on 1,251 Posts
You didn't post the thermostat model but with most........................

24vac transformer to Rc and C.
Heating wires to R or Rh and W.
There should not be a jumper between the R's.
If there is only one R terminal..... it can't be used.
 
  #8  
Old 04-12-20, 11:10 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat replacement

Sorry I didn't post the thermostat, I'm installing a honeywell RTH6580WF thermostat.
 
  #9  
Old 04-12-20, 11:29 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,956
Received 1,353 Votes on 1,251 Posts
No problem. Basically the same wiring.

24vac transformer to Rc and C.
Heating wires to R and W.
There should not be a jumper between the R's.
 
  #10  
Old 04-12-20, 11:45 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat replacement

Great! Thank you so much!!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: