Burnham Aquastat Prblm - Runaway Condition

Old 05-14-20, 01:05 PM
C
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Burnham Aquastat Prblm - Runaway Condition

Howdy all:

I'm new to boiler maintenance, but I have a good grasp of how the system works and how to properly maintain it. Recently, my circ pump failed, and while I was diagnosing this I noticed the boiler overheating and the pressure relief valve leaking or totally dumping (old pump was a near silent Grundfos - I never heard it run in 25 years). After some investigation I also discovered the aquastat (Honeywell L4080D 1036) appeared off by anywhere between 20-50 degrees from the boiler temp gauge causing a runaway condition. Temp / pressure gauge seems fine - PRV was dumping as expected when temp reached ~230 and pressure climbed ~30 d/t steam formation.

I purchased a compatible replacement recommended by Honeywell, but new Astat (Honeywell L6006A 1145) is behaving the same. Switches work, verified by manually lowering Astat temp to ~130-140F once the boiler temp exceeds high limit (180F), and burner shuts off as expected and allows circulator to continue. Pipes are hot, distribution system heat feels normal, but high limit does not function as it should to stop the burner. On re-heat after reducing Astat temp to ~130-140F, system heats to ~180 and shuts off burner (Astat set to 135F).