1960s boiler heater questions

Old 09-24-22, 09:09 PM
N
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
1960s boiler heater questions

I have a few questions for anyone who has time or interest and patience to help me.
I am relatively new to all of this. I have owned this home for a little over a year and have been told I need to replace this old expansion tank with a new bladder tank, but money is really tight right now and for this year would just like to empty the current expansion tank and top the system back off the boiler to an appropriate pressure as the pressure is currently low after bleeding all of the heat registers.
From the videos I have watched this expansion tank maybe doesn't have the proper valves. I know this is a very old system but it has provided this home with heat for years, was very reliable last winter and I hope it has a few years left in it.

I am going to attach pictures below of the boiler and if anyone can give any suggestions, I appreciate it.

For emptying the expansion tank am I correct in thinking all I have to do is release the screw to the right, of the picture of the expansion tank? I wish it had a valve that was easier to open, but I also think it should have a valve I can close on the opposite side to ensure that the entire system does not drain out this tank?

For refilling and topping the boiler system off, am I okay to just fill in through the valve at the bottom? Last year I think I filled it too high as I was going to be gone for a while and was afraid of the system getting low, and I think that is why the expansion tank got so full.

Thanks in advance for any information and for your patience.
Thanks, Tom

Last edited by NewHomeOwnerND; 09-24-22 at 09:34 PM.
Old 09-25-22, 08:10 AM
Received 282 Likes on 241 Posts
Although I do not have "hands-on" experience with such tanks, I did some research last year when I ran into one in a system posted on this site.