10000 L Brick Water Storage Tank

Old 04-14-05, 03:33 PM
MG13124
Visiting Guest

Hello All,

I am an engineering student designing a 10000 liter water tank for a community in Rwanda, East Africa. The tank will be made of standard red bricks. The internal dimentions will be 2.8m square, by 1.5 m high. The walls will be three bricks deep on the bottom, with the standard orientation: thinest dimention vertical, longest dimention along the face of the wall. The walls will be steped on the outside, with 3 tiers, each 1/3 of the total hight. The first tier being three bricks, the second, 2 bricks, and the third, 1 brick thick.

When filled, the tank should weigh in at about 27000 Kg

The roof will be composed of 12 minislabs of reinforced concrete of dimentions 1.5m * 0.5m * 0.08m. There will be an internal wall two bricks thick to support the minislabs.

The tank will sit on a slab of reinforced concrete.

Some questions:

How thick should the foundation slab be? Is 6" with #4 rebar going both ways, spaced 1' on center enough?

Will the roof minislabs, with the given dimentions, be thick enough to support their own weight as well as the the live loads of a few people on top of the tank?

I am thinking of using steel grid mesh to reinforce these minislabs, does A98, 5mm mesh with 200 mm spacing sound reasonable? Is that too much or too little?

I am thinking that the bricks should be layed such that there is interlocking at the corners of the two adjoining walls. I figure that will help strenthen the corners to resist the overturning moment of the water pressure. Does this sound reasonable?

As far as the bricklaying pattern goes for the 2 multibrick tiers, should there be some bricks that are rotated 90 degrees from the standard orientation to join the layers together?