Cinder block wall a DIY project?

Old 06-03-05, 09:44 AM

I have some experience mixing concrete and am confident of my DIY skills. I am going too far by thinking I can build my own cinder block wall? The wall will be on level ground, and be a 6' tall privacy fence between my house and my neighbor's house. We are both tired of the termites from the existing old wood fence. I am replacing another wood fence now, but I am having trouble finding information about a cinder block fence on the web. Is this because it's not a DIY project?

Sponsored Links
Old 06-03-05, 10:12 AM
Group Moderator
you might try changing your search terms, I rarely hear them called "cinder blocks."

There should be lots of help online if you search for "cement blocks" instead. In my opinion, it's definately a DIY project, provided you have an eye for detail, stringlines, a long level to help keep things straight, and can mix mortar to a good stiff consistancy- stiff enough to hold the weight of the block, but thin enough to squeeze out slightly when you set and wiggle the block.

Old 06-03-05, 06:04 PM

Tyger-

If you are building a concrete block wall 6 feet high you probably will need a permit. In addtion, you may want to have it designed so it doesn't fall on top of someone (like your kids). Anything 6 feet high and 8 inches wide has a tendancy to fall over when pushed unless it designed and built properly. There are numerous examples (high winds, earthquakes) where walls were turned into instant concrete patios or walkways.