Question about foundation for new house


  #1  
Old 07-07-05, 02:16 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Carlsbad NM
Posts: 127
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question about foundation for new house

For anyone who knows:

We are about to start building a house. We are going to contract out for the foundation. The first bid we got back states he will use 3000 PSI concrete with reinforced fiber. He asked us if we wanted the wire mesh in there also? He says that stuff is a pain to work with and most people don't chose to use it any more. Is this true?

Will the foundation be strong without that wire mesh?




John
 
  #2  
Old 07-07-05, 06:40 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 45,774
Received 870 Upvotes on 761 Posts
The wire is a pain. Most times it gets trampled down and poured over top off. If the wire is not pulled up to the middle of the concrete it is useless. Some codes require use of rebar in footers. I assume like my location it is not required where you are. I would use rebar in the footer. The fiberglass is good but rebar is better. I like using both.
 
  #3  
Old 07-07-05, 07:33 PM
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,650
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Question about foundation for new house

The 3000 psi concrete is minimal and nothing special. With any decent aggregate and a reasonable amount of cement it is very hard to get less than 3000 psi.

Fiber mesh concrete is very good, but it not equal to concrete with wire mesh. Any good contractor can place concrete with mesh in it. If he can't handle and place the mesh he probably can't place and finish the concrete properly either.

f you are building slab on grade with a thickened edge you should use rebar for the perimeter.

You are going to have your home for a long time, so the extra cost of mesh is minimal in the big picture.

Remember - Codes are the minmum standard, not what should be done. Said another way "You are never wrong if you follow the code, but you may not be right".

For my own driveway, I used 4000 psi, wire mesh and fiber mesh. The extra material cost was less than $200. Spread over 20 to 50 years, thats not much for peace of mind.

Dick
 
  #4  
Old 07-11-05, 06:06 PM
Mudball
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
We are getting ready do build a block (basement type) house with a slab floor.
The footer is going to be 4000 psi "steel" fiber mesh poured over rebar.
I was told I wouldn't need the "wire" considering the strength of, and type of concrete we are using combined with the rebar...I hope.
Don't forget about your frost depth.
Good luck.
 
  #5  
Old 07-11-05, 06:39 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 45,774
Received 870 Upvotes on 761 Posts
Mudball

Rebar is far superior to wire. The good builders I know won't even use wire but on slabs tie rebar together in criss cross [square] pattern. It is stronger and less likely to get knocked down [and not pulled up] and be under the concrete instead of in the middle.
 
  #6  
Old 07-11-05, 07:48 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Carlsbad NM
Posts: 127
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hes using rebar in the footings. We hired him so hopefully the foundation holds up.





John
 
  #7  
Old 07-12-05, 03:16 PM
Hellrazor's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Eastern USA
Posts: 948
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by JohnnyM76
Hes using rebar in the footings. We hired him so hopefully the foundation holds up.
Well lets put it this way. If the rebar doesn't hold up, the wire would have failed a lot quicker... now isn't that a nice thought?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: