Concrete Volumes per m3

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-14-06, 02:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gibsons
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Concrete Volumes per m3

I recently did a foundation for a fellow...I poured the footings first and then stood the forms for the walls....When it came time to order the concrete i did a standard measure of all the height x widths x depth.. I came out with 14.5 cubic metres...net measure for the walls....And I added 0.6 of a metre for the pump.. So...when pourday came...We poured the walls and I was on the hose and wasn't to sloppy...But at the end of the day...Even after using the 0.6 metre for the pump we were 0.8 m3 short...So here's the mystery.. Is there a difference in volume, before concrete is vibrated, and after???
I think there is, but i've had people say different because when it comes frtom the plant it is dry...So any guru's out there...Please feel free to answer..I'd appreciate so conclusion to the matter...
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-14-06, 06:01 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,405
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Depending upon the mix design, it is technically possible that you vibrated out that much volume. More likely though is the spreading of the forms and/or spillage.

What do you think, ConcreteMasonry?
 
  #3  
Old 06-14-06, 06:12 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,405
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK, I just talked to the Guru (My Pops) and he asked how much did you get on your shoes, because it isn't shrink from vibration.
 
  #4  
Old 06-14-06, 06:33 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Could be maybe the truck was a bit short to start with?? or he helped a buddy out on the way over with a little pour of his own??
 
  #5  
Old 06-14-06, 06:37 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,405
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
They carry a weight ticket when they leave the plant, and he said that it was a dry-mix, so it is metered at the jobsite. Also, as a rule, a ready-mix truck doesn't have time to go pour off a yard for his bud on the way to the jobsite.
 
  #6  
Old 06-15-06, 07:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gibsons
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
not much on my shoes

k thanks guys... It solves it for me i think the sweet sounding people at the plant shorted us then....or like the one fella said...he stopped off to help someone out....and by the way...The mix was already kicking off by the time we had finished the pour....Hardly any trowel time a'tall...Ever hear the expression...harder than the back of gods head???...That's what it was....But we're up here on the sunshine coast in B.C....Construction is booming,,,due to the 2010 olympics....All the rich folks think this is the place to be....Good for them...Good for us!!!
 
  #7  
Old 06-15-06, 07:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,405
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Check your weight tickets. That is what they are for.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes