help ripping out a cement slab

Old 07-17-06, 11:51 AM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question help ripping out a cement slab

I have rented a jackhammer to rip out a cement slab. I have never used a jackhammer before and I assumed that when I used the concrete would just crack up. But it isn't the jackhammer is just making nice neet holes and the slab is not cracking up. Is there some secret that I am not seeing? Or will I have to jackhammer every square inch to get this slab out of here?

Old 07-17-06, 01:09 PM
W
Received 66 Upvotes on 57 Posts
Slab

Start at an outside corner or along the edge. Drill a few holes in a straight line across a corner. Try about one square foot at a time. Gradually increase the size you are breaking off until you get the size chunks you want to handle. Sometimes a large chunk propped up off the ground with another smaller chunk will break easily with a sledge hammer. The ground acts as a cushion and absorbs the shock when the slab is flat against the ground. Good luck.

Old 07-17-06, 05:28 PM
P
Ask if they've got a wider bit to use, preferably one that is like a 4 inch wide chisel. Sometimes concrete that is very thin or in very bad shape will act as you describe. It makes it a real pain in the butt to remove.

Pecos

Old 07-17-06, 09:24 PM
J
Talking

Well I am done. It took about 12 hrs to do 200 sqft. The largest that the concrete would break were about football size. This was a lot harder than I thought it would be. But I am glad that I got it done! (Sorry I had to whine to someone about how hard it was).

Last edited by joeinthedark; 07-18-06 at 07:25 AM.
Old 07-19-06, 08:14 AM
A
Last summer I broke up 300 sq ft of garage floor, using a 10 lb sledge hammer. The concrete was 3.5" thick with no reinforcement. It broke up fairly easily, hauling it out was much more tedious.