Do Sidewalks Need To Be Sealed

Old 04-20-07, 03:27 PM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

Hello,
My sidewalk was poured two years ago. I never sealed it and this year I got what I think is called spauling. There's about 18 spots where the top 1/8 layer was loose. These spots are now ready to be repaired, but with what? I have a bag of ready mixed sand mix and need just to add some water and perhaps a bit of concrete acrylic fortifyer. Is this recommended? And should I seal the sidewalk afterwards?

Old 04-20-07, 04:52 PM
S
Smile

I'm NOT a concrete expert, but would recommend sealing, YES. It isn't that expensive, and will help.

I will let the concrete guys answer your other questions.

Dale
Indy

Old 04-20-07, 05:38 PM
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post

There could be several causes of the spalling. - Deicers, excess finishing, non-air entrained concrete.

Any "patch" only 1/8" thick probably would not be effective, considering that you should have some sand in the patch for strength and abrasion resistance.

Sealing is of little or any value. Too much can be detrimental. Keep in mind the slab is sitting in moist soil, so coating the top does little good.

Sealers also wear off with traffic.

Dick

Old 04-20-07, 06:14 PM
S
Smile

I am not saying that concretemasonry is WRONG, because he is in the field, or has been and has seen with his own eyes, but I have read where it DOES help, and is NOT worn off with normal traffic. It in tests has been shown to reach as much a 1/2" down into the concrete, and DOES repell the water. Gravity works, the last time I checked, and unless your walk is sitting in water it should not be holding water, and any water that you can steer away from the walk has to help. Concrete may act as a spouge but wouldn't the sealer prevent such from reaching the surface thus helping to reduce spalling?

I'm NOT trying to pick a fight, just thinking aloud. I learn everyday.