Shed Foundation

Old 05-11-07, 06:39 AM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Shed Foundation

Questions about 2 different projects

1) Shed

I'm thinking about building a shed, probably 10 x 10 or less. I know I could use lumber on blocks, but I think I would rather have a concrete floor. I have some experience with sidewalks and curbs. I live in MD, frost line is several feet down. Should I just do a floating slab, or do I need footings? Shed location is not flat, so shed foundation wall will need to be around 10" above yard grade to keep all the shed walls away from the dirt. I was originally planning to install J bolts in the slab before it sets (for attaching the wall base), I but need to revise that plan b/c of the foundation wall height. Should I pour the slab and raised foundation wall as a single pour, or is there a better easier way?

2) Everything in my garage rusts. I suspect moisture may be coming thru the slab. If I do a test and determine that it is, is there any down side to sealing the floor to hold down the moisture? Will sealing the moisture into the slab harm the slab or make it deteriorate?

Old 05-11-07, 09:43 AM
D
P.S. Garage floor is 20 years old

Old 05-11-07, 04:02 PM
C
Shed= pour it all at once, foundation and floor, since I have no clue as to how deep the foundation for this shed will be, I suggest adding some #5 rebar around the perimeter so the foundation floats with the slab. It is actually not a foundation but more of a retaining wall, if I follow your information correctly.

I think there should be a new rule here where one has to specify their location so frost can be assessed.

Old 05-12-07, 07:18 AM
D
Thank you. I have a few more questions.

(Because frost line is 2 to 3' deep, I just want to float the whole floor and foundation.)