attaching wood door framing to cinder block

Old 08-02-07, 02:43 PM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
attaching wood door framing to cinder block

I'm building double swinging barn style doors into a 6'11" W x 7'3" H raw opening in cinder block. The doors will be made of 1X6 T&G cedar sandwiched between 1x4 cedar rails fastened with SS carriage bolts and SS nails in a Z pattern. The opening will be framed with 1x8 rough cedar. Each door will be approx 40"w x 85"h.

One framing member from a prior door remained on one side. It was fastened into place with 3 - 5/8" threaded metal pieces, a large washer and a nut. the threaded metal anchors (?) appear to be cemented?, glued? into the mortar between the block. There are no anchors on the other side

I have 2 questions.

1. How to attach similar anchors to the opposite side of the doorway... exactly, step by tiny step ... as I have never worked with cinder block before. I have threaded bar in the same diameter and thread pattern that I will have to cut to length.

1. What is the best way to attach the hinges to the door frame so they won't pull out from the weight of the doors? I 'm concerned attaching only to 2x8 wood frame isn't good enough. I'd prefer to use a strap hinge because they fit the style of door and maybe a heavy duty piano hinge with large flanges would distribute the weight better... if such a hinge can be found. Help! LOL :-)

At least one of the doors must open 180 degrees outward as there is a 5'2" deep dock with a 4.5' drop off in front of the doorway. The lawn tractor has to turn a sharp left and drive along the cement to the grass. (It's an old machine shop built in 1938 by the original owners)

Sorry for the length. Concerned you all would need to see the whole picture to give the right advice, insight, tips and tricks.

Thank you all again for your time and expertise. :-)

Warmly Yours,
Tallrose

Old 08-02-07, 07:18 PM
T
Red face much shorter version