How to Add On to a Concrete Block Wall (not a retaining wall)

Old 08-29-07, 01:36 PM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

There's a new road opening behind my house, so I need to raise my back wall (about 3 or 4 blocks) to help with privacy and noise reduction. I guess I'll raise the wall between me and the neighbor while I'm at it.

I've never done this before, but I'm pretty handy so I think I can do it with proper instruction. I have laid ceramic tile indoors and made concrete pavers for the patio.

I don't know how to post a photo, but here's URL to a photo of the walls:http://home.comcast.net/~pbanks/Block_Walls.jpg

Here's a URL to a close up:http://home.comcast.net/~pbanks/Wall_Close_up.jpg

Questions:
1. Can anyone explain how I go about this, or point me to some kind of tutorial?

2. Can I remove and re-use the red brick on top (how?), or should I just buy new ones?

The back wall is stucco on the road side and it has to be painted a specific color so that it matches (Home Owner Association rules). I think I'll hire someone to stucco the new wall addition, but I'll probably paint it myself.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
mrpb

Old 08-29-07, 03:23 PM
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post

If you are talking about adding 3 or 4 feet to an exsiting privacy wall, that makes it pretty high.

You should contact and engineer to determine (old drawings or inspection) what the existing wall is built of. You will have to reinforce the added portion of the wall. Even with the added on steel, the existing wall may not have enough strength or the footings may not be thick and wide enough.

Since you are subject to local codes and the HOA, there may be a hight limit. If you add on the existing wall you could have big liability if the wall toward the street (public property) or adjacent to you neighbor's property becomes a sidewalk or someone is under it.- BIG LIABILITY!

Many things can cause a wall failure. - Seismic, wind, car accident, etc.