Garage Floor Poured Wrong?

Old 07-01-08, 12:45 PM
R
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts

I recently had a new garage floor poured by a company that's in the business of doing that.

The condensation from the car's AC flows laterally to the base of the steps into the house instead of under the car and out the overhead door. It gets the floor mat soaking wet. Imagine what it's going to be like in the winter when the car is carrying loads of snow and ice.

The concrete company said "it's almost impossible to get a floor to slope right in an existing dwelling." The foreman told me "if it was my floor, I wouldn't do anything with it."

I don't think it should be this way. Is this normal? Am I being too picky by not wanting to walk through water each time I go into my house?

Old 07-01-08, 01:14 PM
Super Moderator
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
I'm no pro..but I know Pro's can do amazing things with concrete, IF they know what they are doing. A slope is a slope....if they can come in and slope all the corners of a shower towards the center, I would think they could at least get a slope in 2 directions. How do they do it when it's new construction?

If I'm wrong, I'd be happy to be corrected by someone in the know.

Old 07-01-08, 07:01 PM
J
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I'm no expert either, but it seems that they could make the floor into a freakin' pyramid if that's what they wanted. What does it matter what's underneath? That's the whole point...when they put on NEW concrete, they can make it slope however they please. The foreman's logic doesn't make much sense.

Old 07-02-08, 02:48 AM
P
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts