Asphalt sealant

Old 11-12-08, 10:11 AM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Asphalt sealant

At the expense of sounding like a first rate sucker, we gave business to one of those door-to-door jokers offering to seal our asphalt driveway. He provided a written contract and everything, making the whole thing look more legit. When he was done and gone, we realized he had used roof sealant instead of asphalt sealant, and he never returned to fix his slip-ups, as he promised to do. The phone numbers listed on the contract are to an answering service, and he has not returned our calls. Not being all that familiar with the sealing process myself, can someone tell me if it is acceptable to use roof sealant to seal an asphalt driveway? What is the fundamental difference between the two kinds of sealants?

Old 11-12-08, 12:50 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 839 Upvotes on 736 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

I'm no expert on driveway sealer but I think the main concern would be if the asphalt temp rises the roofing tar [I assume he thinned it] might soften up and be lifted up and tracked elsewhere

Old 11-12-08, 02:35 PM
S
Group Moderator
Received 1,267 Upvotes on 1,207 Posts
Just tell me you haven't paid him yet.

Old 11-13-08, 08:10 AM
C
'Fraid so. I wish I had checked out his phone numbers before he had time to cash the check.

Old 11-13-08, 11:55 AM
M