1/2 DIY 30' Brick Path Installation

Old 03-17-09, 10:18 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question 1/2 DIY 30' Brick Path Installation

Installing approx 4' wide x 30' long brick path. Elongated "S" curve. Went to mason yard to price gravel, sand, brick, edging, compactor rental, etc. Shop owner said why bother? They can pour a concrete base (essentially a sidewalk with wire, expansion joints etc) to the proper depth and slope and I can rent a brick saw and install the brick on top myself. Seems like I can avoid a boatload of work for not much more cost.
Is this a good idea? What problems/future concerns am I not considering?
I plan on laying a few short pieces of sprinkler hose before the pour for that next project. Thanks in advance for your replies.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-17-09, 11:29 AM
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
too solid of a base

I am no expert but I would think that the typical sand and gravel base used for brick/stone walks is better than concrete since it allows each brick to settle and be supported. If the slab of concrete were to heave or settle, a large number of bricks would be unsettled and uneven. If the same area were affected with a sand/gravel base, only a couple of bricks would be affected - if any. The solution to uneven concrete is either expensive or heavy labor. For a sand base, I would think you may not experience any uneveness since the sand and gravel might not be disturbed by the same cicumstances that a solid concrete walk might.

Another consideration is that about the same work is invovled in digging for the concrete base or for a sand gravel base. A deeper cut may be needed for the concrete since you need its depth plus a stone base below that (at least that is how I see most sidewalks poured). Is setting a sand/gravel base more or less labor and cost than concrete? I imagine they might be pretty similar - especially if you are doing the work yourself.