Micro Topping over Hydronic radiant heated floors???

Old 12-25-09, 08:43 AM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Micro Topping over Hydronic radiant heated floors???

Hello all, this is my first time posting here so I would like to thank everyone on here who is kind enough to help people like me. I am a noob when it comes to the world of decorative concrete. I have been impressed by the results overlays can produce. I have decided to install (retrofit) a hydronic radiant heat system in my newly purchased home and I would love to do an overlayment over the system. I plan on placing the either 1/2" or 3/4 pex right on top of the plywood subfloor wedged in between 6-8"x 3/4" plywood sleepers. The tubing will be spaced every 6-8". I need to know what my options are for putting an overlayment/Micro topping over this type of set up. I was hoping I could put a strong skim coat of some type directly over the plywood sleepers allowing the material to fill the seams, screw holes, and tubing channels. Then I would apply diamond metal lathe over that followed by my base coat and finish coat. I would like to keep the micro topping as thin as possible without sacrificing structural integrity. Any advice will be hugely appreciated. Thanks folks

Sponsored Links
Old 12-25-09, 05:55 PM
P
What you describe should work. The diamond lathe/scratch coat/finish coat is right on anyway. For the underlayment/space filler, you may consider a self leveler like Ardex or Mapei, which you would just pour in and let it seek it's own level. However, be advised that this stuff is expensive.
I'd call the manufacturer of the heating system and ask for detailed installation instructions. I'm sure that someone else has done what you're describing. Good luck.

Old 12-25-09, 06:45 PM
J