acting contractor

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-02-10, 09:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
acting contractor

I am a PM for a construction company so i know what is built right and what is wrong. I am interested in adding an addition to my house. I already have an approved plan from an architect and an approval from the local building dept.

Since i manage this stuff in real life (but in another state) i want to be the contractor. i have the necessary insurance and the license.

My question is the new foundation work. As the acting GC can i do this work myself or is a foundation concrete sub needed? Is there slump testing required for such a small job. Does the re-bar need to be inspected? I realize that when you hire a concrete sub, they take care of all this but this is less than 10 cy of concrete in two pours.

any info would be great.

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-02-10, 11:29 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Depends on where you are located. USA doesn't tell us much. I'd check with the permit department to see if they have a problem with you doing it. Usually they won't. You will need to have the rebar cage inspected prior to the pour. In addition it is your house, and you will have more lattitude in who you hire than a regular commercial contractor would.
 
  #3  
Old 05-02-10, 05:51 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,405
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No problem doing it yourself no matter where in the US you are. There will almost certainly be permits and inspections though.
 
  #4  
Old 05-02-10, 08:24 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,972
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
Your house, you can pretty do any and all the work on it you want AFAIK. Not sure how experienced you are with foundation work but you may want to look at ICF's. They seem pretty slick.

I doubt you will need a slump test.
 
  #5  
Old 05-05-10, 02:36 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 236
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
as you probably know, subbing work doesn't negate gc's responsibility for permits/inspections,,, most likely fnd sub would set forms/rebar for this size job.

have never seen slump tests on res work.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: