Brick Mailbox Design Question


  #1  
Old 06-06-10, 04:02 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 238
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Brick Mailbox Design Question

I would like to build a brick mailbox like the one below. To get the layered effect I should use different width cylinder blocks in the core?

Thanks

 
  #2  
Old 06-06-10, 07:11 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,304
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
No. There are no CMU involved.
 
  #3  
Old 06-06-10, 07:36 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 238
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
how is this design accomplished?

Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 06-07-10, 07:35 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,304
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The brick are just corbeld in and out as needed.
 
  #5  
Old 06-07-10, 07:41 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 238
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
to get that effect just pack mortar behind them? When installing the top part that is corbled will I have any trouble with them falling down or the mortar should hold them and bond?

EDIT:

I found an article on gobrick.com. It appears that the brick can be corbelled about a 1/3 of its width and for further support to fill the cores in the brick with mortar?
 

Last edited by caster; 06-07-10 at 08:11 AM.
  #6  
Old 06-07-10, 08:41 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 9,460
Received 47 Upvotes on 43 Posts
I didn't see your location, but if you have any frost, you will need an appropriate base. Lots of frost and the project gets complicated.

Make sure your post office will approve and that you can remove and replace the $9.95 official mail box from your $300 enclosure . Any snow plowing should be considered, plus, since we often don't own to the edge of the road, you might want to check with your town.

Our road is being worked on as I type and our boxes are being relocated.

FYI
Bud
 
  #7  
Old 06-07-10, 08:53 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 238
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
im in nj. From what I read I have to dig down 36"? do i need a pad at that depth or just rock base then pad?
 
  #8  
Old 06-07-10, 12:05 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 9,460
Received 47 Upvotes on 43 Posts
Yes, you will want a pad. You will need to contact Dig Safe, free, to have a locate done for gas, water, telephone, other, all marked. Sounds like a pain, but the real pain is the $5,000 fine for hitting a wire because you didn't call. And yes, even a shovel can cut a wire. As a contractor, I have no insurance if I don't call and I have worked at locations where there couldn't possible be a wire, but still called.

I used to live/work in Brick, so do contact your town office and get permission in writing, NJ does have strict codes. You do get some snow, hopefully they will be scared away by the looks of it.

One of the things contractors cringe at is seeing a porch lifted by frost because the posts were not installed properly or those concrete gate monuments when they are leaning to one side. You have a real mix in NJ, sandy shore and rocky north country, so your code people will know what you need.

Bud
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: