Fieldstone Foundation Re-Pointing 101.....Need Advice!!!

Old 11-16-10, 07:06 PM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fieldstone Foundation Re-Pointing 101.....Need Advice!!!

Okay, first let me say I am a masonry newbie. I've avoided re-pointing my 110 year old fieldstone foundation because.....well....I hate playing with concrete or mortar. I'm not a complete moron....I've patched my share of concrete and made a small pad for my grill

So anywho...here is what I'm working with.....

The worst of it.

Typical for the rest of the 18x35 basement walls. The existing mortar is very crumbly below grade. The mortar itself seems to resemble horsehair plaster - yes it has hair in it!

So I get a few bags of Quikrete Type S Mortar and mix it to the consistancy of Play-Doh. I grabbed my pointing trowel, a metal spatula and go to town....

EPIC FAIL!!!! I'm sure my method and/or my tool selection was improper but it went horribly bad! More mortar ended up on the floor than it did between the fieldstones! It took absolutely forever to cover a couple square feet! I feel like I would have had an easier time making a little dryer of a mix... making a softball size ball with my hands and jamming it between the stones....and using my fingers to smooth it out.

What is the proper method and tools for repointing a fieldstone foundation??? Sure, it would be nice to hire a pro but the finances are tight and I'm flying solo on this one.

Any advice?!??!

Old 11-17-10, 04:31 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Try mixing it a little looser and use a grout bag to squeeze it into the joints. Then you can use a pointing trowel to finish it and poke in a little. Glad it is in good enough shape for you to do that rather than replacing it. Oh, the hair was used loooong time ago to strengthen mortars. Similar to what we do with fiberglas fibers in a concrete pour. Different times.....different materials.

Old 11-17-10, 05:47 AM
B