cold weather concrete ?


  #1  
Old 11-30-10, 08:37 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: sw sub chicago
Posts: 1,063
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
cold weather concrete ?

guys. i have a problem.

comcast, right now, is installing this big ugly box right outside my kitchen window. potential buyers are not going to like seeing that.

so i am thinking i could put a nice looking fence to block it, and the 2 other boxs there. but its in the 30s & 40s right now.
is there a sack of cement that i could in these temps, for fence posts ?

thanx
 
  #2  
Old 11-30-10, 05:28 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,265
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
If the fence is wood, you don't need cement.
 
  #3  
Old 11-30-10, 06:11 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: sw sub chicago
Posts: 1,063
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
yes, it would be wood. something that looks nice, and not tall. thanx
 
  #4  
Old 12-01-10, 03:48 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,306
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
At those temps any concrete would work. The concrete will be below ground right? As long as the ground isn't frozen solid, the concrete will set up. Even if it got down in the 20s the night you poured it, you'd be okay.
 
  #5  
Old 12-01-10, 08:30 AM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,265
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Just dig to the frost line & forget about the cement.
 
  #6  
Old 12-01-10, 08:49 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: sw sub chicago
Posts: 1,063
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
this is right outside my kitchen window, and is closer than it looks in this pic.
the one that looks like a port-a-potty, is the new one. used to be like the right one.

 
  #7  
Old 12-01-10, 09:25 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 19,281
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
One thing to consider..there is probably a utility easement around there. If you block access, they may tear it down and not have to replace it.
You also need to call your local wire marking service (there's a toll free nationwide number). Even though it's been marked, it needs to be done again under your name, otherwise you could be responsible for repairs. Be very careful..there is probably 480V leading to the big transformer...but they should be pretty deep.

Personally...I'd just plant a few shrubs.
 
  #8  
Old 12-01-10, 10:41 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: sw sub chicago
Posts: 1,063
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
if i end up putting a fence there, i would make it removable. somehow.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: