Colored concrete or stained concrete inside the bbq


  #1  
Old 06-09-11, 09:21 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 687
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Colored concrete or stained concrete inside the bbq

I am in the process of building my bbq, already for a looooong long time
At this point the concrete floor of my bbq is about 2" lower than surrounding paver and I need to pour more of the concrete to bring it higher. I've never done either colored concrete or stained concrete and am wondering.
a. which of those two will be more DIY friendly?
b. do i still have an option(s) or pretty much forced to use one or the other?
Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 06-10-11, 06:37 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
If it is going to receive ashes, and other crud, what difference would it make??
 
  #3  
Old 06-10-11, 07:21 PM
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,130
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How big is it and can you mixe the concrete in just one batch, colored(pigmenterd) concrete will give the most lasting color. If several batches are needed, forget about uniformity because the good, permanent pigments are so strong that getting exactly the same pigment is two small batches is impossible. The main problem is the strength of of the good permanent pigments, which are like working with dynamite when you have a small batch.

Stained concrete is variable in color and even if it is not really permanent, no one will know the difference in a few years.

Dick
 
  #4  
Old 06-10-11, 08:57 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 687
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Thanks!

Yep it will receive all bunch of crud for sure, but it will look going while at it
My thinking was, that if I don't finish the floor, it will eventually stain with grease and like you say other crud. We'll see...
It is rather large about 16' across and I will not be able to mix all of what I need in one batch - staining that is than.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: