Repair old fieldstone stairs and concrete slabs in walkway

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-02-11, 10:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Orange NJ
Posts: 139
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Repair old fieldstone stairs and concrete slabs in walkway

My front stairs(I believe theyre fieldstone steps) are coming loose from the old cement. I also have concrete slabs(approx. 2.5 ft by 1 ft.) at the ends of each section of the walkway that are a little loose.

I plan on picking up some quikcrete and cementing around the loose stairs where the old cement has given away. Also I plan on lifting the loose concrete slabs and spreading the some quikcrete down to bond the slab to the bricks underneath.

Am I on the right track here? Do I need to consider cement type products to tighten up these loose sections of the walkway?

All comments appreciated!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-02-11, 07:40 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I wouldn't use quickcrete. I would use Portland cement with sand (3 sand to 1 Portland) or type N mortar. Make sure that you remove all that's loose & go down about 2 inches, to give you a good bond.
 
  #3  
Old 07-06-11, 04:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Orange NJ
Posts: 139
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok. I didnt mean concrete. I meant mortar. I have an 80lb bag of type S. I wont need this much but I dont have a wheel barrow to mix the cement in. I was planning on using a plastic bucket(looks like a 5 gallon) and mix up enough to fill about 3/4 of the bucket. If I need more Ill make more. So the bag says about 5.5 quarts of water to the 80lb bag. So a 1/4 of the bag = 1/4 of the 5.5 quarts right? No calculator in hand but that looks like about 1-1.4 quarts of water. Sound about right? I hear there are mortar boxes? Why spend the money on the box when I can use a bucket?
 
  #4  
Old 07-07-11, 06:28 AM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A mixing pan would make things a lot easier. I never measure the water, I just add as I need it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: