Patch concrete to make it level

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-02-13, 08:02 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 192
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Patch concrete to make it level

Hi! I have some concrete around the house that is sloped to carry water away. I need a temporary fix that should last about a year, before I remodel the whole area.

What I need to do is to create a couple of areas each one about 1' x 1' that are perfectly level, so I can bolt down some posts and keep them vertical.

I think I'll need to add about one inch of concrete on the 'deepest' spot.

After cleaning carefully with a pressure washer and building a small "box" around the areas I want to level, which procedure should I follow? Can I just use regular concrete mix or should I get something special for this purpose?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-03-13, 05:47 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,493
Received 600 Votes on 554 Posts
I would look at concrete repair or resurfacing compounds. They are intended to work as a thin layer and to bond well to existing concrete while I think regular concrete would soon crack and break free from the old.
 
  #3  
Old 07-03-13, 08:48 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 614
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You don't say what kind of posts or what they will be used for. New concrete, especially that thin will not have nearly the strength as the old existing concrete. If there is any side load or vibration as in a fence post, I think it will crush and crumble. Is it possible to use an adjustable standoff or shim the bolts with washers? If you do go with concrete, I remember seeing a product called Cement All by Rapid Set at HD. Fast setting, high early strength, feather to 0". Never used it though.
 
  #4  
Old 07-03-13, 03:00 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 192
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well I am looking at all the options. While not originally what I asked, but how do they do something like:

Carport

See those small "pillars"? Are those done at the same time as the main slab?
 
  #5  
Old 07-03-13, 04:31 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,493
Received 600 Votes on 554 Posts
I have most often seen pillars like that poured first with their footers then the slab is poured afterwards. The pillars are not really an important detail but they do indicate that there is a footer underneath for supporting a load. The metal brackets to attach a column can be put almost anywhere on a concrete slab but the key is what's underneath to support the load.
 
  #6  
Old 07-03-13, 04:36 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 192
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
In my case, I would like to build a temporary structure to lift about 300lbs from the roof of my car.
 
  #7  
Old 07-04-13, 07:20 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,606
Received 205 Votes on 182 Posts
When you say you want them level, do you mean each pad is level to each other, or just each pad is level on top?

You shouldn't need to level them to each other as you can cut the posts off the right height similar building a deck.
 
  #8  
Old 07-04-13, 12:02 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 192
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
exactly, level to ground, I do not care if they aren't at the same height (within reason )
 
  #9  
Old 07-04-13, 09:44 PM
BridgeMan45's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,196
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
"A temporary structure to lift 300 lb. from the roof of my car"? Why such a permanent solution to a temporary problem?

Get 3 strong neighbors and a 6-pack of quality beer--the entire job can be done in less than 10 minutes. Each man (counting yourself) only has to lift 75 lb.
 
  #10  
Old 07-08-13, 02:27 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 192
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Because I'd need to do it when I like, maybe once a week, before and after going camping, etc

The temporary is because I am going to build a garage tall enough for the truck to enter and I will have the lifting mechanism there once its done, but it will take approximately a year.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: