bluestone over existing concrete


  #1  
Old 08-24-13, 09:30 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
bluestone over existing concrete

Have to replace a number of 1 in bluestone pieces on my walkway about 40 sqft.

They are over an existing concrete slab. Have asked a number of folks on what to use as a concrete mix to bond correctly.

Some say portland with a 3 sand to 1 portland with a bonding agent.

others say type s concrete with bonding agent.

I am at a loss.

Any insight would be helpful

Stone
 
  #2  
Old 08-24-13, 06:00 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,265
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
AFAIK, both would work but the type S is stronger.
 
  #3  
Old 08-25-13, 02:57 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 11 Upvotes on 10 Posts
I agree that S is stronger, but I believe the ratio would be closer to 5:1. At least that is what my guys use to set stone vertically. Horizontally it may be different, so wait on a concrete guy to chime in here on that part.
 
  #4  
Old 08-25-13, 03:03 AM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,265
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
3 to 1 is what we always used.
 
  #5  
Old 08-25-13, 04:10 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 11 Upvotes on 10 Posts
Seems to be a better bond to have less sand, anyway. Thanks.
 
  #6  
Old 08-26-13, 06:18 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 138
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I just did a similar thing, pavers over concrete. I used Sakrete type S mix for most of it with no additives. Mixed it a little wet to make it more workable. Worked great on the concrete side, impossible to butter on the paver side, but if I set, hit it to level, and left it alone, it cured nicely. Only bricks that gave me trouble were ones I over-worked, end of the batch, and an accidental trip/kick a few hours after setting (DOH!)
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: