What is the Easiest way to Level this ?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-14-14, 06:53 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 32
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question What is the Easiest way to Level this ?

The porch is actually formed in 2 halves. As you can see, the left half has cracked in the middle and has sunk down about 1" - 1 1/2". I've been told be several contractors that it should not sink and lower due to the fact there is a gravel base underneath.

I need to find an easy way to level this area.

What is the easiest method to do so ?

Thank you.

307 Cleveland Porch album | Labrat0116 | Fotki.com, photo and video sharing made easy.
 
Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-14-14, 07:32 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,408
Received 588 Votes on 542 Posts
It's not a proper repair but if you want to try cheap I would do an overlay with a concrete repair/overlay compound. Busting out the old slab altogether, compacting the fill underneath and pouring a new slab would be the proper way to go.

I don't like seeing the siding go all the way down to the concrete. Hopefully there is flashing behind to protect the wood behind from puddling water and snow melt.
 
  #3  
Old 03-14-14, 03:58 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 32
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pilot Dane

It's not a proper repair but if you want to try cheap I would do an overlay with a concrete repair/overlay compound. Busting out the old slab altogether, compacting the fill underneath and pouring a new slab would be the proper way to go.

I don't like seeing the siding go all the way down to the concrete. Hopefully there is flashing behind to protect the wood behind from puddling water and snow melt.
What type of concrete should I buy ?

How much (Ballpark) would I need to get ?

I have no idea what's behind the siding. We bought this Repo a few years ago and rehabbed the interior. It's on the market now For Sale.
 
  #4  
Old 03-15-14, 12:12 AM
BridgeMan45's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,196
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
No one can guess the amount of concrete needed if you don't first provide a few dimensions: length, width, and depth of placement.

And while you're at it, give that railing some new paint as well. You don't want to scare prospective buyers away before they even get inside.
 
  #5  
Old 03-15-14, 06:35 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 32
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
3ft x 3ft x 2"

We're actually painting the rails (and more) today.
 
  #6  
Old 03-15-14, 07:16 AM
L
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 238
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
1.5 cu. ft. for those dimensions.
 
  #7  
Old 03-17-14, 01:28 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 1,348
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
' told be several contractors that it should not sink and lower due to the fact there is a gravel base underneath ' HORSEPUCKEY ! if that's true, why'd it sink in the 1st place ?

cheap & quik - sand topping mix,,, probably every other year you can do it over, too



ps - we make good $$ removing that stuff & doing the repairs right AFTER the HOA's have their 'handymen' repair it the 1st time
 

Last edited by chandler; 03-17-14 at 06:01 AM. Reason: Remove unnecessary comments
  #8  
Old 03-17-14, 05:49 AM
L
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 238
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Stadry,

Bridgeman already gave him the formula and I figured he didn't have a calculator. Truth be told, he should have learned that in elementary school. Makes me sick to see how people are taken advantage of by ship shod contractors, or by doing things themselves without proper knowledge of what they are doing. Renting a plate tamper and placing fill in thin lifts would have prevented this from happening!
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: