mailbox >Stone< stand

Old 04-15-14, 11:44 AM
G
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
mailbox >Stone< stand

hey guys,
i need help!..i have a 4x4 treated wood post solidly sitting in a bunch of concrete,,i was originally going to slide one of those plastic mailbox holders over it and call it good..changed my mind cause its ugly..my dilemma..
Can i use that 4x4 as a backbone to construct a 2'x2' x54" tall wood frame,then cover it in whatever is used to attach stone veneer to it?
thus looking like the pic when finished? i'm not a carpenter but i have the tools!!
can someone direct me to a set of plans..or,how would i build this?..i have 6 -2x4x8 pressure treated pieces of wood ready to go..thank you

Attached Images  
Old 04-15-14, 01:31 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 698 Likes on 616 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

I'm a painter not a mason or carpenter but from what I've seen, if real brick/stone is used - there is a footer and block to support it. You might be able to erect a wood frame to support man made stone which is lighter than the real stone.

Some of the others will likely chime in later with better info for you

Old 04-15-14, 05:13 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
As Marksr says, you will need to pour a footer, larger than the footprint of your proposed structure. On top of that, build a house....literally. Place a treated bottom plate in the configuration you want and build the corners up, covering them with 1/2" plywood. Now you have a box. Before you finish, make framing for your mailbox and install it, leaving it sticking out about 3". Cover the box with 15# builder's felt and then metal lath, all stapled to the plywood. You can start your rock installation any time, now, using 1:5 N type mortar and sand, wet slightly.

Old 04-15-14, 08:15 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post