What concrete repair product for my retainer wall?

Old 04-20-14, 06:50 PM
G
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What concrete repair product for my retainer wall?

I need some advice on what product(s) to use to patch up my retainer wall. I have no experience working with concrete. My wall needs patching up every few years, and this time around I'd like to save money and try it myself. I realize the repair probably won't be permanent, but I want it to last a few years, and for the wall to look better.

There are 2 main places on the wall that I want to fix, and I've included a picture of each. The big crack is due to annual freezing of the ground in winter, pushing out the wall to the right of the crack. It juts forward about an inch and a quarter relative to the left side. I think it has only moved forward around a quarter of an inch in the 10 years that I've lived here, so I'm not concerned about the wall failing in the near future. I'm told it has horizontal steel bars inside.

Crack Photo by gord1234 | Photobucket

There's a product called Liquid Crack Repair (LCR), and I'm wondering if it's suitable for the crack:

LCR - Liquid Concrete Repair Complete Kit | Polygem Epoxy

With LCR, you seal the crack in front with a crack sealer, and when it's dry you fill the crack interior with epoxy cement through injection ports. The cracks I've seen in the examples are all very narrow, around 1/16 of an inch wide. The crack in my wall is up to 3/16 inch in places. Do you think LCR will work for this crack, or can you recommend a better suited product?

Corner Photo by gord1234 | Photobucket