Pieces of Asphalt Driveway Lifting

Old 06-04-14, 08:20 AM
N
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Pieces of Asphalt Driveway Lifting

Hello, Noob DYI-er looking for some asphalt tips. I have a 1 by 3 foot about 2 inch thick piece of asphalt that I can literally lift off of my driveway. Anyone know a cheap and easy solution for patching and holding down medium sized asphalt driveway issues.

Thanks so much

Old 06-04-14, 09:32 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 698 Likes on 616 Posts
It really needs to be replaced You might try breaking up the section a little more and flooding it with asphalt sealer with the hopes that it will 'glue' it all together - similar to a chip and seal pavement.

Old 06-04-14, 11:53 AM
N
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
This may sound ridiculous but how does someone replace asphalt? What would I buy?

I am a software engineer that bought a bit of a fix er up house. It's been fun but I am getting to the stuff that I know nothing about lol.

Old 06-04-14, 11:56 AM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Need to find out why it lifted.
Tree roots are the main cause.
Any box store carry's cold asphalt in bags. It's in the masonry area.

Old 06-04-14, 12:42 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Joe is correct that the reason for the failure is the best place to start! I was assuming it was just old and worn out. I've used those bags of asphalt patch a couple of times but wasn't happy with the results .... but maybe it was just me.

Ideally the asphalt is removed and replaced with hot asphalt which is then rolled/compacted.

Old 06-05-14, 04:04 AM
S
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
if you're unwilling or find it economically challenging to have the repair done by people w/know-how, equipment, & proper materials, try some superglue makes about as much sense to me as d/w sealer which has no elasticity

Old 06-05-14, 05:25 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
makes about as much sense to me as d/w sealer which has no elasticity