Tile existing concrete stoop

Old 07-11-14, 02:50 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tile existing concrete stoop

My front door opens onto a flagstone patio. There is a concrete stoop in front of the door (about 40" x 42" and 6" high). I'd like to cover the stoop w/tile. I've done interior tile before and remember that it was important to use backer board so the tile had a level surface and wouldn't crack. My stoop is in good shape but still - it isn't backer board.
Do I need backer board? If so how do I attach it to the concrete?
Thanks,
June

Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
Old 07-12-14, 08:37 PM
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I have limited tile installation experience, but I'll tell you what I think. Backer board is usually needed for interior applications to form a rigid and durable bonding surface for the thin set. I've never heard of it being necessary when tile are laid directly on sound concrete, as the concrete is already rigid and durable. If your stoop has any sealers or surface treatments on it, it should be pressure-washed to improve the thin set's bonding ability.

A relative of mine recently bought a house that had tile on the front stoop, and most of it was debonding from the concrete underneath. Several tiles were actually missing. A closer look revealed the concrete surface was chalky, pulpy and not very sound, meaning the tile's thin set couldn't grab onto anything permanent. I suggested he replace the stoop before trying to install tile on it.

Old 07-13-14, 04:54 AM
S
we'd use a a grinder w/dia blade to be certain there's nothing on the conc,,, after that, its thin-set & tile,,, as bdge says, ' sound conc ' is the keyword,,, you'll probably decrease the size of the step's vertical rise so be aware of that - your tile's probably going to add height,,, where bdge has limited exp, i have none however we do have a good tilesetter who does all our installs

Old 07-13-14, 09:29 AM