Bad Concrete Work Pouring Footers & Cinder Blocks? Help!

Old 01-20-15, 09:03 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bad Concrete Work Pouring Footers & Cinder Blocks? Help!

I'm having a new home built on a raised slab on fill foundation in Charleston SC. I don't know a lot about how the foundation walls and footers should look...but is it ok for them to have chipped (on purpose) the cinder blocks at the bottom because the rebar didn't line up? And then they just fill in the chipped holes they made with mortar? Please help, I don't know if doing that is up to code, if it just looks bad, or if it's no big deal and I shouldn't worry....Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Attached Images   
Old 01-20-15, 10:57 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 703 Likes on 619 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

I assume the block voids where the rebar is will be filled with concrete. I wouldn't think it's an issue ..... but I'm a painter, the masons should be along later.

Old 01-20-15, 07:56 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
The top notched blocks are where the raised slab is cast into and onto, with longitudinal rebar. This ensures good anchorage between the slab and the walls. The notched out faces at the bottom of the walls appear to be where projecting footing rebar didn't quite line up with the intended wall locations. It doesn't meet code, and should be addressed by covering/embedding any exposed rebar with mortar or concrete.

Old 01-21-15, 04:53 AM
S
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
looks like they already patch'd lower course, bdge,,, IF you want, i can stop by on our way back to hh

Old 01-21-15, 08:22 AM
Man if anyone wants to stop and take a look that would be great!

I did get a response from the builder today....