Filling mortar in corner brink joint

Old 05-02-15, 07:59 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Filling mortar in corner brink joint

We recently bought a house here in the DFW area, and I've been doing some looking around at the various imperfections on the exterior that need correction. On the front of the house I've got a corner where the bricks meet at an edge that is mortar all the way from top to bottom.
Name:  Edge1.jpg
Views: 1250
Size:  38.7 KB

The mortar is crumbling and falling out, and I'd like to fill it in.

Here's an up-close shot. The gap is about a half inch, and it looks like the void space goes back about two inches.
Name:  Edge_Close.jpg
Views: 1647
Size:  50.6 KB

How do i go about filling this in. I've never done any kind of brickwork/masonry, so I'm a complete noob in that regard.

I've read a little on tuckpointing/repointing, but all the examples seem to focus on your basic vertical brick wall mortar joints.
Should I be using backer rod here? Should I use the the typical mortar mix with pointing trowel? Or are there specialized tools for this particular application.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 05-02-15, 08:42 AM
Received 4 Votes on 2 Posts
I'd clean out the old mortar and use a waterproof concrete filler/sealant deep in the cracks. If you want the grout to look concrete, then leave about a 1/2" below the face and trowel in some quick set mortar.

Old 05-02-15, 10:28 AM
Group Moderator
Received 188 Votes on 177 Posts