Drilling concrete

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-17-15, 09:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Drilling concrete

Hi, I am trying to drill some holes in a concrete garage base without success. I am using a dewalt mains corded drill with a brand new masonary bit.

I have tried a pilot hole with a smaller (new) bit but I still can't get more than about 5mm into the concrete.

The holes I need are 14mm and 100mm deep.

Anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks

Peter
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-17-15, 09:29 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Likes Received: 1
Welcome to the forums! I use a Dewalt SDS hammer drill. Makes short work of drilling into concrete. Does your drill have a hammer feature? Milwaukee makes a cheaper version but does the same job. Milwaukee 7/8 in. SDS D-Handle Rotary Hammer-5262-21 - The Home Depot
 
  #3  
Old 05-17-15, 09:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Hi Chandler,

It's a dewalt D25013k so it is hammer but not SDS and it's really not making any headway at all!

Peter
 
  #4  
Old 05-17-15, 10:34 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,715
Likes Received: 15
According to that model number it is an SDS. Are you sure you have it in hammer and drill mode?
 
  #5  
Old 05-17-15, 10:45 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,529
Likes Received: 3
Drill

I know this is crazy, but check to be sure the drill is not in reverse.
 
  #6  
Old 05-17-15, 10:50 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
What type of drill bit? You need one for concrete not masonry. Terms may be different in the UK but here they sell drill bits for plaster and other non concrete surfaces called masonry bits. The packages sometimes seem to indicate they will work on concrete but they won't.
 
  #7  
Old 05-17-15, 11:47 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Likes Received: 1
Next, are you using SDS bits? Very different in flute design from normal bits.
 
  #8  
Old 05-17-15, 11:59 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 597
According to amazon the D25013k is rated at 1.8 joules. That seems like very little. I have a Dewalt hammer drill that's adjustable from 3-20 J and on it's lowest setting doesn't perform that well
 

Last edited by Esand1; 05-17-15 at 12:55 PM.
  #9  
Old 05-17-15, 06:35 PM
BridgeMan45's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,196
You haven't mentioned what type of bit and its condition yet. A few months ago I drilled 3 holes in a concrete footing, each was close to 150 mm deep (6"+/-). They went in like a knife through butter, using my cheapo Harbor Freight hammer drill and the long concrete bit that came with it. The holes were 19 mm (3/4") dia., and no pilot holes were needed. It helps to stop after about every inch (25 mm) of depth, and slowly withdraw the drill (while still spinning) to remove tailings from the hole.
 
  #10  
Old 05-18-15, 02:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Thanks for all the replies!

The drill was borrowed from a friend and he had the chuck in (and I knew no better!) so when I removed the chuck and used an SDS bit, it went through the concrete like a knife through butter. I wouldn't have known to ask without the help so thanks to everyone.

Cheers

Peter
 
  #11  
Old 05-18-15, 04:02 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
Glad you got it. Thanks for letting us know what the problem was. It may help someone else.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes